Curie: Yeah... It's Me AgainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curie8 years ago


Sometime over the last few days... we had an issue. I have a little bit more I would like to say!

Thanks?

I know that first bit of clickbait, sorry. We did have a thing come up between myself and members, I took it to the platform and was wrong for two reasons.

Firstly, I had a concern, not a problem.

Honestly, as soon as I typed that... I don't need a #2

Several Days Later

Quick admission. I turned into a flaggot (love the term @skeptic). It isn't quite the first time, I'll do what's needed to make sure it's the last.

I flagged several of @curie's posts for a couple days.

Moving on... yesterday, after several days removal (semi-removal.... everyone who leaves still looks (hopes?) to see what steemit is doing) I came back. I removed what flags I could, and just started looking at what I enjoyed.

Little Injured Warrior Mentality

That's what I am going to call it. What I mean is that frame of mind we get into where we are so convinced we are right, or righteous, that it's somehow damaging to the platform as a whole if allowed to continue.

Thankfully, that mentality had lifted, I read some stuff by some people I like... and just felt better and voted that way.

Today

Want to know something weird? Today I look at my curation rewards, and there's a pretty big difference from before. It's not that I haven't tried to spread my vote around to new people, but I was always just a bit more focused on certain authors, as some are.

Using and spreading my votes without thinking about my game plan... I am getting a pretty sizable jump.

Irony Is Not Lost On Me

I know that this very likely is a direct result of this Curie group. Actually, let me get more specific. 100% it is the author... I enjoyed what I read a lot, but Curie is also working hard to recognize this effort as well.

So, this group I was kind of prepared to mud wrestle with in downtown steemitville.... is making me more money. Even if it's indirectly, people look, people report.... they just have a reason to look.

We need people to look...

Wrapping It Up

I guess a bot makes it easier, personally I didn't have a ton of fun, or much luck trying to play the timer game. Yesterday, I went after what I liked, and I didn't lose. I didn't even use my entire voting power!

For the numbers part of it. I am about 1100SPish and I was mostly getting .001SP curation rewards trying to vote close to 30 on a recognized name. Today, it was just a bit more..... .008, .005 etc....

Project Curie kinda means something a bit different to me now, they're increasing my curation take as well... simply by beating them to something great. HAHA CURIE TAKE THAT!

SteemShout


Again, and honesly I cannot stress this enough. If you haven't... take a look at @skeptic and his work.

Steemit dude No. 4

I am not sure where to begin... but I enjoy the way he laughs at the stupid shit that just annoys most everyone else. His work has seriously made my day more than once and is excellent brain bleach.

Sort:  

Damn thank you for the shout out.
I watched a video from shoe on head today about curie. It looks really cool.

For sure.... you need eyes man. It makes me enjoy steemit more lol

She on here? I had to google to figure out who, but looks cool. Couldn't find a curie video though

oh my bad I just looked back at it and it is a different site she is talking about. it starts with a c though. lol
my bad.

Fuck.... it's hard to find a good quality troll.... take it all back

lol

lol
the site she is talking about looks badass.

It really does..... love to see how things would play out if they had gone that route here. Looks way more fun

could be cool, im to lazy to check it out so far. 8D

No 500bill... so why bother

Good post... I saw that you flagged Curie the other day but I never really was able to find out why or any of the specifics as I was gone most of the weekend... what were your reasons for flagging them?

As I said in the post. It was out of a concern I had about the groups in general. I was voicing an objection without approaching them at all, I acted poorly but not entirely without reason. The "acted poorly" part is not approaching them with the reason, or concern, first.

Or as @skeptic would say:
I was a flaggot, and a flaggot's gotta flag

Yea I saw that... I was curious what your concerns were specifically?

Well. Immediately... there were none. I recognize the role they are fulfilling and the need it fills in assisting new user retention. I can say the same thing about the majority of the service groups we have now.

The concern comes more from a "what if" scenario I ran in my head where the problems that these groups continue for this extended period of time and we have these mammoth accounts grown that are controlled by just another user. A scenario where person A was to leave group B and by the act of leaving takes with it the power that was solicited for a specific purpose. That power and person then able to benefit from it how they like.

It came to a head due to a disagreement with a member of one of these groups. These what if concerns became the fuel for a post. I wound up deleting the post....

Now those were the steps leading up to everything, after which I began to flag Curie. The reason for the flag on the days afterward specifically... I guess were "fuck you curie'..... said in a surly, unresolved as yet kind of way.

I see... thank you for sharing. As of right now they are certainly only doing good. Like you mentioned there may need to be some checks and balances if things were to get too big though...

Definitely, I know I talked with a few people involved after as well. I do get the sense that is a concern they also share.

I don't think they would mind at all if you sent them a message on chat. I got the sense they're always ready to listen, and would just like to chat with people willing to do the same.

An apology is always appreciated:)

Honestly, as soon as I read your comment I realized I didn't actually say that in the post lol.

Glad the implied one was received

Lol. It was pretty much obvious:)

excellent post congratulations

When u stopped thinking about timers and what peoples ratings were and just voted what I liked and felt was quality my Curie rewards went up too.

Definitely.... and a bunch more fun to boot!

I meant to say I not You. Hehe but u saw right through that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67