A Very Special Garden - Photographic visit in an Italian garden on the slopes of the mountains

in #curie6 years ago

A few days ago I visited the "Astego Garden".

The Garden is located at 450 meters above sea level on the southern slopes of Monte Grappa and it originates from a previous forest nursery structured on a series of shelves contained by dry stone walls.
Its structure proposes, in a simplified key, the succession of natural environments that can be recognized descending from a peak of the Venetian pre-Alps to the plains such as the rock garden, the fresh scree, the consolidated scree, the high altitude grassland, the beech forest typical mountain, the llama, the beech wood, mountain pasture, the submontane beech forest, the chestnut grove, the olive grove, the thermophile oak grove, the plain wood and the crops.

"P1160238.jpg

Educational visits are made along the nature trails, tree recognition workshops and environmental education activities.
The children learn to recognize the trees in the mountains by observing the most important features such as bark and wood while environmental education activities focus on the life and structure of trees considering the diversification of their appearance in the succession of the seasons.

Cattura.JPG

The first thing that surprised me is the straight path that you are facing when you enter the garden area.

P1160239.jpg

It is very long and downhill and it is hard to see the end.

P1160240-2.jpg

The garden is divided into terracing.
Each terracing is specific to plants divided by species and altitude.

P1160241.jpg

There are educational and informative signs that illustrate the type of plant, the habitat etc...

P1160242-2.jpg

When I visited the garden there were only 3 other people, but the caretakers told me that during the week there are many schools that take children to visit.

P1160243-2.jpg

Continuing I walked on an adventure path where you have to balance over the trunks and make a path through the trees.

P1160245-2.jpg

When I do these experiences, I feel like a child! :D

P1160246-2.jpg

P1160248-2.jpg

P1160249-2.jpg

P1160250-2.jpg

There was a section with flower beds with native plants.

P1160252-2.jpg

P1160253-2.jpg

P1160254-2.jpg

P1160255-2.jpg

This is a place where it is worth returning to different times of the year to see the different blooms.

In fact, as you can see, many plants had already bloomed.

P1160256.jpg

There is an artificial pond where dragonflies flew and small animals can drink.

P1160258-2.jpg

A very nice spot in the garden was used as a natural flowering field.
Here I would like to bring a model to do some portraits.

P1160263-2.jpg

P1160261-2.jpg

P1160262-2.jpg

P1160265-2.jpg

Over a dry stone wall near the flowery field I noticed a lizard sunbathing in the sun :)

P1160268-2.jpg

The more I went down in altitude and there were fewer trees... I was in the garden sector that reproduces the hilly environment.

P1160273-2.jpg

From the sign you realize that there are so many things to see!

P1160274-2.jpg

P1160282-2.jpg

Here is another perspective of the garden seen from the other side of the entrance.
The hedge with pruning that creates holes like windows is particularly pleasant.

P1160284-2.jpg

P1160286-2.jpg

P1160289-2.jpg

Here I am trying to use the remote shutter of Lumix... unfortunately I noticed that it works within 3 meters away from the camera, too bad!

P1160299-2.jpg

There is this giant linden that is a real room... a picture does not make the idea... you enter inside and it's like being in a big green environment... the peace room.

P1160302-2.jpg

I went to see the hedge I was talking about before, with the windows-like pruning... very beautiful!

P1160303-2.jpg

P1160304-2.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the photo visit to the garden.

P1160305-2.jpg

Follow me and I will show you places outside the tourist circuits to discover a hidden Italy!

Thanks for the visit, I wish you all a nice day!

Sort:  

Hi alequandro, thank you for the virtual tour. The garden was very well maintained by the caretaker. It was lovely to have such a tree garden. Once a while we need such environment to distress. I can felt the cold and fresh air inside the garden. I like the idea of the huge room, this really cool. With such a big garden, I can spend my whole day there. Even lizard also sunbathing. A nice catch on the lizard ;)

Yes, the garden is unbelievable, a visitor if he wanted, he could stay there all day... there is also a section with berries, one with aromatic herbs, one with the vegetable garden, there is the labyrinth... it's impossible to get bored...

Incredible enjoyment of visiting this lovely and beautiful garden. It is nice to go at any time of the year to enjoy the different seasons of the year and see the change in the flowers and other plants. It has large trees very nice and very cozy inside. They look like a house with windows. The flowers are all beautiful with very nice colors, some lighter and others more intense and alive than I adore. It's nice to walk all over the place. It is relaxing. Being in contact with the wonderful nature is a very beautiful pleasure. Thank you for all the incredible photos you showed us in your publication. Successes. A big greeting.

Thanks for the comment.
Nature for me is relaxation, pleasure of discovery.
I'm glad you enjoyed my post, my goal is to take you all with me to the most beautiful places I visit in Italy.
Have a nice day!

This garden is just fascinating! Exploring it must have been a thrilling and fun adventure, Starting from that long pathway to that giant linden, it must have been a thrill!

I do love that flower section, the whole stone "thing" going on there is just amazing, it gave it an interesting and more beautiful out look. Plus the flowers there are really beautiful!

Oh and that trunk adventure? It definitely looks like a really fun experience as well, it will be great getting those "child-like" feelings..

I do like how most parts of the garden is filled with stones and some stones decoration as well, it gives the garden a kind of different aesthetic. Definitely unique and special!

The window-like hedge looks really interesting, it didn't look that much of a window from afar, glad you took an upclose view of it. Its beautiful!

The giant linden, how did it feel being in there, did it feel like a different world entirely?

Your photos are beautiful, it definitely captured the beauty and fascinating view of that garden!

Your comment gives me a lot of satisfaction!
It means that I succeeded in my intent. I want to involve people, especially those who do not have the opportunity to visit Italy. I want to show you through my photography and my experiences the most beautiful places I visit, the most important but also the hidden places.
Thanks for your feedback!

You sure did succeeded in your intent, you are really passionate about showcasing Italy to the world. I am sure there are many other amazing places there that are worth exploring, hopefully you will get to explore and blog about them.

Are you Italian?

You're welcome!

Thank you! Yes, exploring is something I like very much!
I'm Italian, I was born near Venice ...
A few days ago I was in a beautiful place ... I'm preparing the new post 😉

That's amazing! I can't wait to read that post, I am sure it is filled with so many awesomeness....

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you for the support! ;)

Astego Garden It's a MAGICAL place. What beauty!
I love nature and your post has fascinated me.
The trees, the mountains, the stones, the flowers, EVERYTHING is so beautiful, excellent photographs
Thank you for allowing us to travel in a certain way through a screen, a big hug from Venezuela!

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it! Greetings from Italy 😉

Wow the Astego Garden is like something I've never seen before not like anything in my country, one of the things that thrills me about the place is the presence of everything green, I've never seen a green lizard, in certain it's green because of the habitat it's found itself almost didn't see it in that picture.
I love the leaves house with a tiny vegetation door really it's totally beautiful the pond and the water lily covering it.
It's such a beautiful garden I'll really to visit.
Fantastic photography work too, I'm guessing that's a selfie of you?

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed the post!
The beauty of this garden is that it is very varied and is structured in an unusual way by how they are usually made.
The lizard is not the common one. In Italian we call it "Ramarro Orientale" the specific name is Lacerta viridis.

Here is a closer photo:
P1160268.jpg

Thanks for your coment, I appreciate it very much!

Yes! It 's my selfie, I was trying to use the remote shooting function of my camera watching the preview from the smartphone :)

Hi alequandro,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

The flowering field is lovely. Indeed, a model will greatly fit with the flowers in the background. The lizard does not look ordinary. It's green! I wonder what specie it is. Would you know?

And the window like pruning is cool. It looks like you are inside something, I can't find the right word...

The garden is well maintained. Is that owned privately or is your government taking care of it?

I'm glad you liked the post!
I feel motivated to continue and do better!
The lizard is not the common one. In Italian we call it "Ramarro Orientale" the specific name is Lacerta viridis.

Here is a closer photo:

P1160268.jpg

Cool. That is a cute photo of the lizard. I feel like catching and playing with it if I am there. 😃

Thanks for sharing it! 😊

It's a garden worthy of those classic walks by Cersei while she plans to finish off his enemies.
Beautiful photos for a beautiful place.
Greetings.

I understood what scene you mean... you have a lot of imagination;)
Thank you for your support

Amazing hedge with windows-like pruning! I can't believe how much love they put into creating this one-of-a-kind garden.

The garden is taken care of by 4 people and when I spoke I immediately understood the passion they have in their work and nature in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54