You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPINION | Venom, or the hyped Prometheus

in #curie6 years ago

It is discouraging to see how this blog has fared. Your writing is brilliant. I will never attempt to write a movie review again--can't match this quality. It helps that I agree with some of your assessments--Tom Hardy. Have never seen him fail to carry off a complex character. Riz Ahmad (didn't recognize the name until you referenced him in The Night of). When I hear a film of this stature, with such a cast and abundant resources, fails to deliver, I have to ask why. When you say it would work if they chopped 20 minutes off, I'm led to believe the writers didn't deliver a convincing script.
I certainly don't intend to see the film until it comes out on cable--even then I can entertain myself with a word game as the plot stumbles along.
Wish I could do more to promote this review--my two cents (literally) isn't going to do much. Good luck. This kind of quality in the long run will be recognized.
I am going to recommend this blog to Asapers, a wonderful curation trail that looks for undervalued work.

Sort:  

Thank you, @agmoore! 😍😋 I'm very glad that you liked my Venom review!

Don't worry about it. Your opinion and your support are worth a ton of gold... Interaction with the content I write makes me ten thousand times happier than the votes (though they surely help 🤣). Hope to see you more frequently around these parts ☺

Indeed. I'm still somewhat heartbroke about Riz Ahmed, I loved him in The Night Of and I'm perfectly aware he's a fine actor. The guy even won an Emmy for his role, for God's sake... 😣 I think films like these fail to deliver because its creators don't truly connect with the audiences and the reasons behind its story... Why a character acts the way he/she acts, what's the true message hidden inside any given screenplay... It's really sad. We tend to forget that Hollywood is its own kryptonite.

Nevertheless, Tom, Michelle and Riz still have a lot of chances to do it better 💪 And, at the very least, the post-credits scene gave me some hope of redemption if a sequel actually gets made.

I'm going to follow you, of course, but I lose track of people. It's easier to find your stuff on the Discord channel, I think. I'm going to hang around CELF more. Seems to be a lot of quality creative material. Discord is also confusing to me (I'm easily confused!), but I'll manage. Dropped a link in Asapers. They're good. Have been very kind to me and to others. Hope they pick up your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82