Daily Disco Banger #8

in #curation7 years ago

Enchantment - Utopia

Usually I just pick one song for the Daily Disco Banger, but today I am going highlight this entire record; an unparalleled, distinctly 80's, underappreciated gem of a classic that will live on eternally in the hearts of all who appreciate true funk.

I can't say enough good things about this record. I first caught wind of it about a year ago due to Jimmy Edgar's tribute cover on his "This One's For The Children EP", which is a practically identical sleeve. After a few months of being aware of this record, a beat up copy just happened to find its' way into my record shop as a part of a used lot buy, and I just had to take it home.
I'll break it down so the merits of this record are clearly illustrated:

Virtuoso group vocals and harmonies
Amazing lyrics
Unparalleled sexiness
Fairlight CMI synth programming circa 1983 (that's a $100,000 synth workstation back in the day)
Good mix of dancefloor tracks and slow jams
Funkin groovy

Top tracks: Don't Fight The Feeling, I'm Dreaming, Come and Be My Lover.


Enjoy!

Sort:  

Saw you stopped by my blog and gave me vote so decided to meander over to see what you about... and happy to see another vinyl junky. Listening to these tracks now...sure takes me back to my young adult life. Not the music I used to listen to but the kind that played on some radio stations... almost like sophisticated Motown sound. Just for the memories I shall add you to my voting list. Keep the music coming !!

thanks @themagus ! All I do is post music. I'm trying to think of more daily and weekly post series I can do, so if there is something you are particularly interested in, let me know and I'll deliver!

I did a 'Music Legends' series based only on vinyl I own...I have linked to my AUDIENCE music legends post in my latest post if you want to check an example. How about doing pure DISCO SERIES .... you know, Donna Summers and Grace Jones type era... was very interesting and the youngsters may enjoy that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78