Le Vlog #2: How to maximize curation rewards as a minnow! (Video in post)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

With greater voting power, comes greater curation rewards, so it's more important now than ever to really understand how the curation on steemit works, so you can form a strategy as a minnow.

Curation simply explained

I'm going to try and keep everything simple for all of our new users out there in regards to how curation works. Basically those who contribute the most to increasing the reward payout gets the largest chuck of the 50% paid out to the curators.

  • Those who vote the earliest will get the largest share of the 50% rewarded to curators.
  • Users with the largest amount of steem power (SP) will get a larger share of the pot relative to those with less.

It's also important to not that if you vote before the post is 30 mins old, then you will forfeit part of your reward to the author. It's a balancing act of being one of the first to vote and receiving the least amount of penalty possible. Thanks to @lifewithcrypto for pointing that out!


Source


That being said, if you are a minnow, it's important to vote at 100% voting power (VP) and be the earliest to up vote a post to maximize your curation payout. You can vote multiple times a dat at 100% VP if you space out your votes!

This entails ignoring the hot and trending tab, and scouring the new tab looking for those "diamonds in the rough". Look for the users who are producing quality content who have little to no votes. If you think others will vote for this post in the future, then use your 100% of vote, while maintaing 100% (VP) to upvote.
As minnows, it's important for us to support each others work, especially after HF19. Our number of votes a day dramatically decreased, which caused many minnows without a base to be overlooked. By adding value to others, you will not only improve the Steemit community as a whole by spreading out the reward pot, but you will also get paid back 10 fold in good karma!


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Sort:  

Thanks beans! I accidentally submitted it early with out the vlog, so i was rushing to find a pic, organize the post, and edit the text haha! I always want to put quality content out, so I was really freaking out for a sec. Thanks for stoping by!

First VLOG! Went back and watched the video, and it made the post even more interesting.

achievement-unlocked-template.jpg

1

Haha thanks beans, your the real MVP

You're really good at delivering vlogs.

I've tried talking to the camera before and it sounds more like fjskrhd hfhedb fheh dhehjd

Also I found you from a resteem; your friendship strategy is working 😀

haha oh wow thank you I really appreciate that!

I'm not gonna lie though, it took me like 5 different attempts until I stopped feeling so awkward about it all.

And oh wow really?! I'm so happy hear that haha your upvote just made my night. I guess paying it forward really works in the long run!!

Nice! I'm glad it made you happy .. ya I think #PayItForward pretty much always works in everything :p and when it doesn't work you still feel good so it's hard to go too wrong ha

So true my dog! Karma is a bitch and I already have 99 problems haha

Quick addition: the sweetest (best) time to upvote a post is at the 30 minute mark from what info I've gathered. I'm not 100% how true that is.

Let me also thank you for the info you provided us with! @waphilip :)

Please show how much your vote is worth on this comment...
DQmXZJPhzGMVX3w4bsk6KnhogzwGLhVTdAu3LxGoF1kxtQP.gif

That is very true crypto! I had a vlog I was supposed to attach to this post that had that point in it!

Thats 10% do the math haha


namaste!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72