They did this to me?!

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

Note: Image used without any permission whatsoever

Some people are just lazy, not only that, they do not think of other people at all. I know, I know, 'Taraz, you are meant to be the positive one.' Not tonight. Tonight, I am going to rant and rave like a lunatic.

I have spent a lot of time and energy speaking about and praising @ocd and the job they do here. The manual curators who trawl through the trash looking for treasures, the votes they hand out to hundreds, if not thousands of unique authors and their leader, the patron saint of the forgotten poster, @acidyo. But, tonight it ends. How quickly things can change. A short week in this case.

I have been a loyal supporter of @ocd for months now. Waiting each night until they post their regular and international compilations, going through and voting a little on each one, waiting for some minnows to lead and then voting on the core post itself. Even the posts I can't read in Japanese or Polish, French and German I vote for. Why? Because I thought they cared.

But No! They don't care, @acidyo gave them a Christmas holiday! Time off? How dare they...

Do you know what has happened in that time while they were drinking their eggnog and eating baked ham? My curation rewards have dropped 20 percent! 20! This week my returns are 12 Steem lower than normal. 12! That is about 65 dollars now! How selfish of them. Do they not think of anyone but themselves??

As you can likely tell, I am joking but, I am not very funny. Granted, I am funny enough to do standup at SteemFest but really, I probably shouldn't.

I am writing this post for the minnows and small accounts out there that are looking to get a return from curation whilst still doing good deeds for the platform and rewarding a large range of authors. @ocd do a great job finding content even though they are spread pretty thinly to cover everyone who posts.

What you can be guaranteed of is that you are voting on manually curated, original and quality (even if you can't read it) content produced by people who go largely unrewarded in the system. There are the two core posts to vote on and about 15-20 other opportunities so you can take your pick of the selection or, if you have a vote slider or use Busy.org, spread the love in smaller percentages.

When you vote early enough on the linked posts in the @ocd compilations, a few whale votes will come in and bump them up significantly. This means that small accounts will be able to benefit from the curation rewards. If you have a larger account, please wait until the smaller have voted a little.

If you would like to be curated by the team, they look for quality original content and it may help if you use the ocd-resteem tag from time to time to grab their attention. Remember, there are only 30 or so of them and they have their own blogs to build and lives to live also, so check them out too if they happen to leave a note on your work.

For me, someone who doesn't have a great deal of time to search for lots of original content, it feel good to still be able to reward some of them in some way rather than just the usual suspects in my circles. Most of the time, my voting power is smashed but I always try to add something. A few cents here or there are going to add up for people in the long run and this goes for curation returns too.

Currently, Steem price is at about 6.50 US and with about 500 SP, you can get a Steem or two if you curate well. Perhaps not so much at the moment but, in a year from now, that may really mean something significant to you and your monthly earnings. It also means you can learn what kind of content they look for and perhaps you can get some ideas to create and develop your own. A few curations from @ocd over the next year will also likely mean something much greater than it is today and, today it is still significant.

What I like about the curators there is that they take their work seriously and spend a lot of energy to find content and help as many as they can. It isn't always easy and they are rarely recognised for the work they do. So thank them if you see them, not just if they curate you, but for helping the platform in general.

Anyway, I have already curated the @ocd posts for tonight so I guess I can go online and research how to rant and rave like a lunatic properly. I will start with r/Bitcoin/ at Reddit I think.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Edit: I changed the image just in case people thought it was ocd by some accident.

Sort:  

Greedgets to people , we live in a fucked up world

I would love to try eggnog one day :P I just had ton of tangerines and gingerbread cookies. Oh I also did absolutely nothing. I was even naughty and let my VP recharge to 100% couple of times. So much freedom and no scrolling through tags. Haha.

I am so happy to be back at it :)

I have never had eggnog either actually. I did eat a lot of ham but my VP never recharged.

I am glad you guys are back but my VP is already gone again :D

I'm afraid that eggnog may be perceived now as a formality that won't be missed. Unless it's done right, it's just mmeh but fully loaded, one or two cups is satisfying and one of those distinct Holiday experiences.

Oh eggnog. I have had the genuine article, or close enough- so I can offer up a little review of said substance. It's indulgent, like most traditional Christmas holiday stuff and it's usually the kind of thing you serve in at-home parties or a family get together. Understand that store bought eggnog is not complete. It is simply the base prepared for your convenience so don't judge eggnog on that because it would be like judging a cake by tasting the uncooked batter. Done proper (a little less egg and a lot more nog), the dense, creamy texture should firmly hit your lips and nostrils with "spirit", better known as rum vapor, as the velvety smooth and moderately sweet creme buffers the intensity, smoothing over the palate leaving the distinct, and wonderful (in my opinion) essence of nutmeg. If you've ever had a White Russian then it's not far off but this is far more viscous so less likely to get you in trouble. Over indulging in eggnog is akin to eating too much hotel food. Just don't, but you won't because a little goes a long way.

Acidyo is such a piece of shit. He could use all that steempower to circle jerk with other whales and make a shit ton of money for himself but no...he goes and creates this network of people that help poor minnows make some decent rewards. I hate him.

Sorry guys, I'll try to vote more on the usual trending posts and post 10x a day from now on, I promise. :(

Bwahahahaha! If I was still drinking my eggnog, I would have spit it across the room. Thanks for the laugh :)

It is rather pathetic really. It is some kind of Mother Theresa complex.

I appreciate the recommendation. I'd heard of @ocd of course but never really knew exactly what they did and have had my suspicions raised by other curation accounts. I didn't really know that acidyo was involved either or that it was all manually curated posts. I'll definitely check it out. :)

Happy New Year mate!

Oh, I thought you knew this. It goes to show how easy it is for information to get lost in the Steemit cracks.

Happy New year to you too!

You actually had me going for about three paragraphs there!

:)
Btw, you do some great analysis posts. I know you know that but... still :)

Thank you! It's always nice to hear people find them useful.

Had me going to, I was like... Wha? (-:

Hahahahaha @tarazkp
Damn, you're hilarious! When I started reading this I knew you weren't trying to say anything bad about the OCD team, and I couldn't wait to see how you'll turn the rant into a compliment or a joke somewhere in the middle, I even for once thought that you might disappoint me and render something probably stale but damn you delivered! Hahaha. That u-turn was nice.
Cool.

Much kudos to @acidyo.

Oh damn, I overshot my holiday and forgot to nominate!

I had never heard of @ocd before. Now I have and I will check their blog. Thanks for informing us (me).

@tarazkp What a plot twist!

Thanks for sharing, I've just followed them. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48