You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inaugural round of Steem Community Curation: I'm driving steemcurator07!

in #curation4 years ago

Thank you for this very useful feedback Steve.

One of our key goals with encouraging #steemexclusive content is to help build up the value of content on Steem for search engines.

A considerable portion of the traffic to steemit.com is organic search engine traffic.

We assume it is a fair assumption that if the content is on other platforms as well as steemit.com the search engine value is lessened - unless steemit.com is always seen as the original source.

Would be interested in your thoughts on this. And whether the steemexclusive criteria for the Community Curators should be relaxed.

The Steemit Team

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree with the assumption. Basically, off the top of my head, there are five ways to compete for users:

(i) Attractive content (i.e. content that attracts attention)
(ii) Superior blockchain technology
(iii) More/better dapps
(iv) Wider distribution of tokens
(v) More exchange coverage

Since this whole thing is a play on the attention economy, the first might be the most important.

If we don't have exclusive content, that places limits on the ability to compete on content. It's a balancing act, though, because we also need to attract and retain content creators in order to get more attractive content.

I think if I were the one making the decision, I'd allow voting for any content in order to attract users, but impose a cap on the voting percentage for non-exclusive content. For example:

Max vote = 100% for exclusive Steem content, Max = 50% for content that's also found elsewhere.

And in the comment, the curator would note that the post could have earned a higher upvote if the post had been exclusive to Steem.

As the months go by, depending on growth in numbers of active users, I'd start ratcheting down the max percentage for non-exclusive content, until it eventually reached zero.

Of course, the incentive for the curator would then be to vote 50% or less for everyone and not bother to find out if its unique or not, so it's hard to say. Hopefully, curators have enough investment in the value of Steem that they'd understand the importance of exclusive content. If that type of curation behavior emerged, it might have to revert quickly to a requirement for fully-exclusive content.

I am not an 'official' STEEM curator, but I am a curator. :)
I don't apply as 'official' curator because I am rather busy and thus there are days where I can curate a lot, but also other days on which I would clearly miss my own target. I think Steemians with more time and less STEEM power are the best chocie as 'official' STEEM curators ...

If I find exclusive STEEM content, I am willing to upvote it. So far the problem is that as a long time Steemian, most of my friends and also these great authors which I know are posting on both blockchains, which means that so far most of my upvotes are executed on both chains.
In future that may partly change:

  • a) Because I get to know also great (maybe comparable new) authors who only post on STEEM.
  • b) Probably a certain percentage of the completely new members will only use STEEM and thus produce 'STEEM exclusive' content.

Because of these necessary NEW users it is very important to make account creation as easy and fast as possible for everybody, also people without any blockchain experience.
As I think that's a rather important aspect, please allow me to tag you at this point @steemcurator01.

Totally agree, we are working on this...

Because of these necessary NEW users it is very important to make account creation as easy and fast as possible for everybody, also people without any blockchain experience.

Thank you

The Steemit Team

Hi @remlaps, this is a very interesting idea...

I think if I were the one making the decision, I'd allow voting for any content in order to attract users, but impose a cap on the voting percentage for non-exclusive content. For example:

Max vote = 100% for exclusive Steem content, Max = 50% for content that's also found elsewhere.

And in the comment, the curator would note that the post could have earned a higher upvote if the post had been exclusive to Steem.

If you would like to try that approach, we would be in full support, and would be interested to see how it works for you.

Give it a go and keep us posted.

Thank you

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65