If you vote for a post as soon as it is published on Steemit you are gonna get nothing, zero, zilch, nada.... so BE PATIENT!!!

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

push the button.jpg

Now I must admit that I am a bit of a sad case, but often when I have an hour or so free I watch the voting patterns on the site trying to spot a chance to improve my Steem power, and this is because part of the game here on Steemit when you are looking for curation rewards is to pick the moment to vote for a post that you like. Now I sit watching posts especially from members of the community with a ranking of 65 of above, and within seconds of posting they will have 20 or so votes against their post, no matter how daft, banal or thoughtless they are. I am guessing the contributors have a high ranking because they have been successful in the past in either voting for really popular posts, or their content has previously warranted support, and it is hugely frustrating to see the already successful members sitting on their laurels and posting sub standard articles in the knowledge that they will be earning well, whatever they do.

Now when I joined up, I was all for voting for those who do have talent and for those who have something interesting to say, but to get my ranking up you are literally forced to go with the flow, and I don't think that should be the case, do you? I may be naive, but I thought that the point of Steemit was for authors, bloggers, vloggers, creative people and those with imagination to benefit from a social network that actually allows you to earn from the time that you spend on the platform creating original work for others to enjoy? That's what it should be about, but something doesn't seem quite right. There are lots of worthy posts that are being totally ignored, and with the system as it is and with your votes being so precious, if you are a minnow and you want to make some Steem power, you are almost forced to support posts that may not be your cup of tea or what you really like and enjoy. It seems to me that only when you have got to a position of power can you do that. That my Steemit friends is a huge shame, and a big flaw in the system.

Now I take it that many of the votes cast in those opening minutes are from bots and not actual people, BUT if so, then these bots are actually taking away much of the fun of picking a post that may turn out to be huge, plus in supporting just the big fish on here, all the minnows will get left further and further behind. Am I the only one who can see this? I want Steemit to succeed, but there are several flaws on the platform (such of the overriding power of whales) that could undermine the whole site. Automatic bots upvoting posts in seconds and lessening the chances of you finding an original and/or outstanding post when it is in it's infancy is another weakness that has to be looked at.

I also wonder if many people realise that if you cast a vote in the first few minutes that a post has been put up on Steemit, you will get virtually no reward yourself, plus you are damaging your potential earning power in the process. My advice to you all is PATIENCE!! The longer you wait until the 30 minute deadline is reached after the post has been published, the bigger share of the spoils you will get. It's not rocket science, and when you do pick a winner then you will feel a sense of pride and success, even more if the writer or contributor has really worked hard themselves to produce something worthy. I am all for quality work, and for those with talent to succeed, and I hope you feel the same way too...

Please if you care about Steemit, and I would say that 99% of us actively participating on the site do, and you want things to be better and fairer, please make your voice heard so that the people who run the site can iron out the flaws that there obviously are, and make this the ultimate Social Media site that the internet has yet seen....

Sort:  

Yes. Apparently, the percentage of curation rewards goes from a scale of 0% (with the author getting all) To 100% At 30 minutes.

Odd game theory...

The system sure reflects the current dystopian state of our greater society, doesn't it?

The solution for both things seem to be the same - unity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44