Oct 6 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

My thoughts are with the people in the path of Hurricane Matthew. I have never experienced a hurricane and can’t imagine what it would be like to be in the path of one as destructive as Matthew has been forecast to be. We already know that about 200 have been killed in Haiti, as if that country doesn’t get slammed by nature enough.

Onward to today’s rambling

FOLLOW YOUR PASSION

Sometimes we need a reminder about the importance of following our passions, our interests. Working at what doesn’t stimulate or excite us is just a grind.

One thing Satoshi Nakamoto underestimated was greed. We underestimate it too. Let's correct our mistake.

Satoshi Nakamoto was the developer of the bitcoin cryptocurrency. He appeared out of no where, managed to get others to engage with his project and he disappeared never to be heard from again. What he started was a revolution in currency.

@intelliguy writes a post suggesting that Satoshi Nakamoto never forsaw that the blockchain technology that spawned the bitcoin would spawn about 650 more and counting. He suggests that eventually there needs to be a way to make them work together. Interesting thought process and an interesting discussion developing in the comments. Join in.

Why on EARTH would you want to be a writer?

@steemitpatina writes an oh so true critique of why we’d want to be writers, especially freelance writers.

Promote your posts on /r/steemit and do your bit for steemits public image! [Making /r/steemit great again]

@ausbitbank provides us with a tutorial on how to promote our posts on Reddit. I’ve not been a Reddit user so this is very helpful.

Positivity Challenge #2 Update 05/10/2016

@positivity posts regular updates on the Positivity Challenge and includes the winners to date. Good idea to have a look at the links and give them an upvote too.

GOOD ETIQUETTE ON STEEMIT

@sift666 is back with another tongue-in-cheek post on using Steem effectively. Today he zeros in on respecting viewpoints and the ever contentious crediting of pictures on websites. I personally find it rather odd that most will say that we need pictures on our posts because people are more visual and then some spend hours searching the web to see if you took the picture from somewhere else or not. Each to their own.

Turn Your Steemit Writing into Ebooks and Make More Money, Pt 5, Putting the book together

@markrmorrisjr has a series running on how to write a book from your Steemit writing. I just came across this segment which is Part 5. If you’re serious about writing and possibly writing a book. It would be a good start to read this from a professional writer. The other parts are here:

1. How to Turn Steemit Writing Into an Ebook in Seven Days! Sell it Here, or Anywhere! Part one
2. Turn Your Steemit Writing into an Ebook in 7 Days, Part 2, Fiction or Nonfiction
3. Turn Your Steemit Writing Into an Ebook, Part 3, Finding a Topic
4. Make More Money, Turn Your Steemit Writing Into Ebooks, Part 4, Choosing a Title

Was Marx's philosophy his own or can we say we will talk about marxisitc philosophy?

In the food for thought corner, @darkminded153 writes on the topic of Karl Marx and his Marxist philosophy. If it could be made to work in the world it could have some value but so far, it seems to me, any efforts to apply the principles has ended badly. Always makes for interesting discussion, so don’t forget to have a look at the comments.

Wrap-up on Day 29

Well, day 29 means that tomorrow’s post is the end of my personal 30-day challenge. It’s an interesting challenge finding what I think is the nuggets of good posts among the chaff that we sift through every day.

Course, I have to keep in mind that these are based on what I have enjoyed reading and doesn’t always match the interests of others. I’m grateful when others have indicated they find value in the choices I’ve made. Thank you for the support.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Many thanks for the mention, I just checked out your lists and think they are great. I 'm now following you. Cheers.

thank you @sift666 and oh, good picture choice :)

I love the idea of a steemit ramble. Taking chunks and concepts of important posts and sharing them. Keep up the good work, you're going to get a huge following once people realize who you are, and what you're doing with this.. Very nice.

I recommend you attend one of the mumble radio shows and if you're willing to speak on what you're doing. I think it's great.

you're very kind @intelliguy ... I do have to ask.. what is mumble radio?

Check out this older post of mine. It happens every Friday and there are some steemit dolphins and whales in the attendees who listen. To get a spot on the radio, you have to RSVP and get people to upvote you on the RSVP thread that shows up a week in advance.

But anyone can show up for the live show, and ask questions either by text or by voice. After the show is done, it becomes an "after party" where people shoot the sh... and talk about anything. It's a lot of fun.

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@intelliguy/hear-me-talk-maybe-at-beyond-bitcoin-hangout-173-is-happening-fri-sept-16-2016-at-7am-eastern-10am-pacific-2pm-utc

I've downloaded the mumble client and installed it. Also found the most recent post on the show and included it in my latest ramble. Will try to get into the show next Friday. What else is happening on that server?

Thanks for the mention, @shadowspub! I'm honored to be included in your ramble.

I hadn't seen one of your posts for a while but was delighted it was a good one... Nice to see you back around or at least on my radar :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42