Feb 14 -- Steemit Ramble #71 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

A school bus was hit on the train crossing south of me yesterday morning. It was stuck on the crossing. The snowplow had been through the previous evening but the sander hadn’t made a pass yet. Luckily everyone on board was okay, at least physically. It’s a reminder when the school board cancels buses, they are thinking about safety.

Well, it finally looks like winter outside. We’ve not really had any real snowfall this winter until yesterday. It snowed all day Sunday, about 8-10” or so. Bright and sunny out now, which is great.

So, for those who celebrate it, Happy Valentines Day.

Onward to today’s rambling

Being on adventure: Writing my very first book. Ups and downs during the first 50 pages

@surfermarly writes a post about the excitement and exhilaration of writing a book… well maybe not so much.

How you see yourself is everything!

@penguinpablo posts about how important it is to understand not only how other people see you but how you see yourself. If you see yourself in a negative light, you’ll not be able to move toward your goals in life. If you see yourself succeeding then you’ll move foward toward the goal.

What type of personality is your cat?

Yes, I’ve said it before, I’m a sucker for cats. Could be because I own two, umm, am owned by two that is. @natal.katya posts about the various personalities cats have.

The eldest of my two, the queen, is Dawn. She is very much a cat-person type. She wants to be with me when I’m around and loves to lay in my arms being stroked. She’s a bit of feisty cat but mostly with the younger cat, and mostly to remind him that she’s the elder.

The younger of the two, Fawnya, is a tabby cat. He too is a cat-person in that he wants to be close to where I am in the house. He’s also a hunter-cat but I don’t allow either of my cats outside. It’s really fortunate that I live in an older home which mice get into, cause he gets to hunt and I get them kept out. He’s also very inquisitive, whenever I open a cupboard, drawer or the fridge he has to be able to inspect.

When he was a kitten I inadvertently closed him in the fridge when I was talking on the phone and didn’t notice he had jumped into it. I heard him crying and figured out where he was. I routinely find cupboards standing open, letting me know he was inspecting while I was away.

The Lost Art of the unknown illustrator

Ever picked up an older magazine and notice some of the sketches in them? I think for the most part we’ve noticed them but never thought about who the artist was. @arthuradamson has done an amazing post about the unknown artists who have populated these magazines and other media with their drawings done very quickly with very broad descriptions of what was wanted. Well worth the read.

Up Close and Personal with @anotherjoe

@nextgen622 posts an interview with @anotherjoe. He works closely with @instructor2121 on keeping the Steemtrail project running. Great to have an opportunity to learn and appreciate more about who he is. Great interview.

What Is Austrian Economics?

This was fortuitous finding this post. While reading the interview with @anotherjoe I saw the reference to his belief in Austrian Economics. I read the sentence a couple of times and thought “oh, he must live in Austria”, then I saw he lived in the US and was really puzzled. @lydon.sipe has written a great post explaining what Austrian economics is.

Tips On How To Get A Short Story Published

If you are serious about writing and writing as an income, you need to learn the craft of writing. It takes practice, a lot of practice. One of the great things about Steemit is that we can practice on here and might even manage to get paid. @whatageek posts tips on how to get a short story published through traditional outlets and get paid not based on voting.

What Are The Benefits Of Ketogenic Lifestyle And What Kind Of Food You Can Eat

@baldos writes about the benefits of a Ketogenic diet and what the diet consists of. Like any diet, there are those who are strong supporters and those who oppose it just as strongly. The comment section of this post will give you a running debate on the diet between two individuals. There are a couple of take aways from the debate. One, you need to explore changes you want to make carefully and two, if you make the change, monitor the effect on your closely.

Wrap-up on Day #71

The last few days have been busy and I’ve not spent the time on the Ramble I would have liked to. I’m shooting for the next few days to be a bit better. Here’s hoping. I have some projects that need my time and attention as well.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I am happy nobody got hurt during the school bus incidence!! Snow is a romantic thing but can actually cause a lot of trouble, too. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my article and mention it here. I really appreciate your great support. Happy belated Valentine's Day to you, too! :) I resteemed your article hoping it will get some more votes which would be well deserved...

Yes, the driver was right on the ball and noticed the signal lights start. He got everyone off the bus or it would have been a disaster for sure. Thank you for the resteem and Happy Valentine to you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55