ANNOUNCING: Steem Trails Participation

in #curation8 years ago

I talked about the Steem Trail project yesterday on my Steemit Ramble. Today I’m posting this to let you know how I’m taking part in the project.

About Steem Trail

The objective with Steem Trail is for the volunteers to curate the tags (topics) of their choice for quality posts to upvote and promote. They should also post to those tags and work to build community around the chosen tag.

It is a work in progress and will evolve over time. In order for a post to be chosen for upvoting it must:

  • Be original content by the author
  • Text and graphics should be properly cited with the source
  • The post should be relevant to the subject matter
  • Initially, there will be only one vote per day per author. This could change as the community develops
  • Tags should be properly used.

Using Tags

You are allowed five tags on each post. The tag you choose first will become your main tag. You want to choose a tag which reflects the main topic of your post.

Writing a recipe post and using Life as the first tag, would place the primary topic in the wrong area. You want to use Recipe or Food as your first choice. If you’re writing comments on the post that reflects on life, then the Life tag would be appropriate.

Using inappropriate tags could lead to a curator not giving you an upvote that would have been deserved in the correct tag area. So, take care on using tags.

My Curation Areas

I’ve volunteered to help with three tags: Curation, Life and Writing. I’ve spent a couple of days looking at the feed of the three tags. It’s been interesting. I see there is a need to develop an outline of what each tag is about to decide if a post actually fits into it for upvoting.

At this point I have a bit of a vision of what each tag will be about. There will be more curators than just myself so we’ll have to come to a consensus over time.

Here’s how I see it at this point:

Curation

This tag would contain posts which curate other peoples posts. The Curie Reports is an example. It can also contain posts about curation. It really is a skill which needs to be learned and applied. It will enrich the process as we learn more.

Life

This tag would reflect experiences and lessons learned from life. They could be expressed through multiply lenses and is going to be pretty broad ranging.

There are some clear areas where using the Life tag would be inappropriate. An example I see a lot of is recipes where the author just posts a recipe and uses life as a tag. Had the author wrote some commentary about a life lesson learned through that recipe it would be a different matter.

Writing

This tag would be about the craft of writing. That can also be broad ranging but just because you have written something doesn’t mean you should be using the writing tag.

Getting Involved

If you want to get involved with Steem Trail, just visit the SteemTrail channel on Steem Chat and offer to curate a tag. It’s early stages and nothing is set in stone. The project will evolve.



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

It's great to see more and more initiatives like this starting. I think this shows that the community can help to improve things AND you don't always need an old school top down approach.

This is one of the great things about the Steemit community. Having been in crypto for a while this is exactly the opposite of the attitude I've seen in other places where the development team is expected to solve every single problem and do it yesterday which is insanely unrealistic.

They will do that eventually but they need time and it is refreshing to see the community working to make things better.

It's going to be interesting to see how this develops over time. If the community responds to the curation work Steem Trail does. It will need some buy in from the community so it becomes somewhat a team effort.

I can't wait till they fix the tags; at the moment you will only see stuff in either the 24 hour or 30 day tags. However it is frustrating to post multiple articles under the same tag; only to see them disappear after 30 days.

Cg

not sure if that is going to change

Study, study, study ...
Here is some useful information about Steem

I wish you a successful and fruitful curating.

thank you.. and yourself :)

I really have mixed feelings about the initiative but I'll probably explain myself better in a separate blog post. I need to sleep on it a bit.

well, whatever works for ya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50