Curation rewards and trails, self voting, support others

in #curation6 years ago

Today I want to express some thoughts of curation rewards and trails. It is true that most of the steemians following voting trails do it for the rewards and some will do for the support. When I first started here in steemit I delegated most of my SP to @minnowsupport not really understanding how that would affect my overall growth. Some people will avoid upvoting some other steemians posts and comments because they might be afraid of not giving enough and it actually happened to me once. Market prices will affect how much your vote is worth but pretty much nothing on how people will see your votes.

IMG_20170713_135726.jpgYour SP is your piggy bank and will earn interest over time

Great votes:

  • If you like someone else post/comment vote it.
  • Vote the post and do not think about the curation rewards, a comment is more highly visible than an upvote and authors might appreciate it more.
  • You can surely join communities that will vote your posts but it is quite hard to have engaged followers/friends that will come genuinely and vote you and specially leave a comment.
  • My personal rule is to leave a vote after I've totally read the post or comment and not thinking about the timing on it.
  • I understand the rules and the algorithm for curation rewards but I've also had better results by being an honest steemian and leaving comments.
  • Support communities/projects or authors you really like no matter what, in that case it doesn't matter how much your vote is worth you are just trying to support them.

Do not vote:

  • Using trails if your vote is too low or SP is small will most likely do nothing for you unless you are actually doing it for a reason, supporting a community.
  • For the curation rewards as your vote weight and timing might not do much. (personally I made this mistake at the beginning and earned nothing from it)
  • Self comments and posts. I believe most of us feel like self voting is not good, self voting comments is worst as you are just earning 100% of the curation rewards, even though I do not like self voting on posts at least you are sharing the curation rewards.

Curation rewards

I think of them as a side effect as I would like to keep growing in order to be able to give more and its the start of the snowball effect. Think of it of earning great power to attract more people who will eventually vote you back but do not stop there keep supporting their growth and as I use to have the #grow-together program is something that eventually be mutual beneficial.

If you are not voting then lease your vote power or give it to some projects that can make use of it. Over time your power will keep growing and eventually you will get used to it.


I would like people who made it this far to leave a comment and I'll try to sponsor a @steembasicincome share and I would also encourage everyone that have some power laying around not being used to delegate to @treeplanter project


@raserrano - Developer

kedjom-keku.jpg
@kedjom-kekuConservation Association
KK-icon-plant-tree-Green-outline.png
@treeplanterFund-raising upvoting bot
FFF-logo-bw.png
@forestfriendlyWater Saving bees

pal-sig-anim-trans

Sort:  

Yes, I agree. I delegated about 25% of my SP to various initiatives and investments. It's tempting sometimes to self-upvote, but it drains VP and takes value away from upvotes given to other Steemians.

The true value on Steemit is interacting with each other. When Steem is down, those who don't bug out are usually here for the long-haul. We're also the ones that have been established before the crowd shows up. This is a fantastic opportunity to be rewarded with more STEEM, while the price is down.

You are absolutely right and I'm happy to see you here. It's been a while and I guess we are both much bigger since I had the program to help new steemians. Thanks for you valuable comment.

Congratulations @ironshield! You have received a vote as part of @raserrano donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

I concur and very much appreciate reading and commenting on people's posts before voting them and i value Steem connections more than people just voting for voting sake. I think its worth reading and leaving your sincere feedback on people's stuff as opposed to just ..... and i also think building a good SP is really worth it.

Thank you very much for your words, I'm glad that you read it and hopefully this will be useful for some others as well.

Congratulations @mr-greens! You have received a vote as part of @raserrano donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

Thanks so much @raserrano I've come to discover that commenting on posts is vital rather than just voting without taking time to read a post.Thanks to @forest friendly family we're gaining all these knowledge.

I'm really glad to see your comment and hopefully it will be useful to others as well

Sure.. we all want to make money, but there's just more to it in my opinion. For me, it's making the world smaller, more human connection, more contact. I've had opportunity to connect with so many people that I would have never had opportunity to meet before and there's always something interesting about each one. I love it. If I can help direct some SP or SDB to someone, even if it's not a lot, then I'm in the game. Show up for the game!

That's beautiful and I know you truly mean everything you just said, it's a team game why try to go Solo?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by raserrano from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 20.91% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @raserrano. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55