You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REQUEST: Jointly Create a TOOL to Support MANUAL CURATION

in #curation7 years ago

I'm a senior Java developer, and I've been thinking about developing something to allow for better content discovery. There seems to be some overlap between the two.

You have a long list of features there, what would be the minimum features you need to make this an effective curation tool?

Sort:  

Yesss! I knew sending this to you was a good idea!!!!!

Need to think about what would be the minimum. Ultimately all would be great, but I need understand what is involved to create it, since I think some local Steem DB is required, especially when keywords are getting into the action. But I would like to be able to filter on post age, rep, combination of tags, post rewards and all of this freely configurable per channel. On top of that author blacklist, easy configurable and extendible. What would help greatly is the minimum word count, but this could be a later deliverable or something. Shall we have a discussion on Discord?

EDIT: I think most of the filter items are parameters relatively easy to be extracted from post, the keywords, plagiarism detection becomes more complicated (grammarly maybe something to integrate). So I suppose each post published onto the Steem blockchain is to be post-processed and relevant parameters are recorded in the services DB. This is then the DB to be queried. When we would like to have this tool available for the entire community, such DB may need to be running a some super server, when we think in phase 1 to give this tool to some of the curators out their, then the backend server can be quite a bit smaller I would think. To bring the tool offline, to the desktop, I suppose this requires more code, since their are more platform out there, and is is maybe not as simple as a centralised server + web user interface.

Count me in. I have my own python script to do something similar. If you ever start this project, it would be my pleasure to contribute. In fact I am eager to apply the little tricks, I learned by playing around with the Steemit API, last few weeks.

More than that, I feel if, manual curators are not provided with good enough tools, Steemit will spiral down to a playground for bots (it is a nice place for bots though!)

Adding more, the following can be a broad and scalable outline from the user experience perspective.

  1. Each user can open a 'perspective' of his choice, from a number of inbuilt and custom 'perspectives'.

  2. Each perspective consists a combination of filters.

  3. The user should be able to add or remove filters, on each perspective

  4. The user should be able to set or adjust the parameters for each filter.

  5. When a user opens a perspective, he will see only the posts, that can get through the filters included in that perspective.

If we choose a name for the project we can start a project on GitHub and move the discussion in there. (Guessing you meant an open-source project)

Thank you so much; Are you on Discord? When so, whats your username over there?

febinkk#9220

Cant find it: mine is edje#3711

So so so glad to read this!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66