Why do I curate? - @Ma1neEvent Curation Blog

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Recently I was asked,
"Why Do You Curate?"




whycurate.png


Welcome to another issue of my curation blog!


I'm @ma1neevent, and I have been on Steemit since May of 2017. Not long after joining, I realized that I wasn't really a blogger per se. I became interested in the curation aspect of the Steem blockchain, and began leaving comments and votes on more and more blogs. This made me make connections, friends, and find new groups to join.


Recently, someone asked me, "Why do you curate?". This question doesn't really have one set answer, but I thought I would talk about it a bit with you. These are only my opinions, so please do your own research. Your experience with curation may not be the same as mine.


Reason 1 - It's Fun


Being a curator on Steemit can be a lot of fun! You can find some really interesting content and creative things by curating. I usually try to pick different tags to dive in to, and see what I can find. People on Steemit are really creative, and I love seeing all of the different things they can create! The comments you get back are sometimes helpful too!

Reason 2 - Networking


As I mentioned above, you can meet some really cool people by leaving replies on people's blogs. Who knows, you may even make some new friends! People typically appreciate constructive criticism, so leaving replies on blogs can be good for both of you!

Reason 3 - Helping Others


Being a curator gives you a chance to use your Steem Power to help others. While I am not opposed to self voting, I do think sharing your vote more often with others in my opinion is a better choice. In my experience, people appreciate your voting and reply support. They may even take a moment and follow you as well! I love to be able to reward the creative people on Steemit who are taking the time to share interesting content with us.


What are you reasons for being a curator?


I will try to expand on this topic more often in my blogs. I also plan to do some more curation live streams on Dlive soon. I'd love to hear your thoughts about curation in the replies below!


Thank you for reading!


@Ma1neEvent is an active human curator
for @MinnowSupport Project, @OCD, and @Muxxybot



Your Resteems, Replies,
Votes, and SP Delegations
are appreciated!


This blog is only my opinions. This is not financial advice. Always do your own research
Photo taken by @Ma1neEvent


ma1ne.png

@Ma1neEvent

Sort:  

Curating also helps create broader networks within Steemit of quality content - ripples that as an individual you may no longer perceive!

Upvoted and has been added to the latest MAP Resteems post.

Thanks, I appreciate the resteem!

I think if you enjoy reading you will enjoy curation. Writing is much more of an effort for me, but I feel good once I have finished something I'm proud of

Yes I agree with that, enjoying reading helps for sure if you are interested in being a curator! Thanks for reading!

It's fun, you meet cool people, and you help others. Sound like great reasons to me! :-)

I agree with you -- there are a lot of interesting people on Steemit, from all over the world.

This is great we have people who take the time to help others. I mean, people with authority on Steemit.
Because, if I resteem or upvote someone, who cares ? Even if I do it already because I enjoy reading quality articles, it's not the same at all. So thanks again, and keep going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64274.68
ETH 3492.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55