Whaleshares Curation Show Recap

in #curation6 years ago

Welcome everyone to another recap!


What a day, y'all. Is it just me or is just getting harder to dig up something worthy in #postpromotion anymore? Not trying to downplay anyone's posts, but damn, it was a task today. Guess, it just has something to do with the things I like or don't. Almost every post I was excited about was already fairly rewarded with a bunch of votes and nice payout, I don't know how I made it today, but these picks are pretty amazing!

I. Steem-Hikers at Þingvellir - Anarchy at the Borderline of Europe and America! by @steem-hikers.
Now, I've heard of these two guys before, thanks to this curation show. I remember browsing through posts, and I stumbled upon one of theirs, it was about them just getting to Iceland and trying to find housing and jobs and today I got lucky enough to discover an update on their journey.
The place they visited is called the Golden Circle - Þingvellir and Alþingi. Here is what they say about it:

Þingvellir is a quite large national park, created at the meeting point of two tectonic plates, visible better here than anywhere else in the world. It is here where Europe comes into contact with America, at least geologically.

You can see the view on the second panorama image in the post.

This is however also one of the most important places in Icelandic history. For hundreds of years, once a year, the most important representatives of local communities from all over the island came here to convene an assembly in order to decide on important issues of the life of the settlers and settle disputes. This assembly was named Alþingi and so is called the modern Icelandic Parliament nowadays.

Looking through the post you can find a lot of information on history of this place, no wonder it attracts a lot of tourists, and of course those breathtaking Icelandic landscapes are to die for!

4.png

II. Cat Lazer Part 1 by @arrozymangophoto.
Don't let the images of these cute kitty cats fool you and trick you into thinking that was the only reason I picked this post.
Arroz Con Mango is relatively a new Steemian, he joined the platform in the beginning of this year and according to his blog, he's a photographer, musician and a puppeteer.
When I opened this post and scrolled through the photos, I thought they were really well done, and it is not that easy taking good pictures of cats, I must tell ya, but he did a wonderful job capturing these wonderful creatures and sharing the story of his relationship with cats. Arroz con mango mentions that he got his first cat when he was 7 years old and throughout his life 10 cats of his passed on, which is of course is super sad to hear about, but it's the way of life.
I think it is a beautiful post and I was disappointed to only see $0.52 cents under it. So there ya go!

Extra content:

  1. Taj Mahal in Monsoon Season. by @zipporah.
  2. Exploring Japan - Kiseki No Hoshi Greenhouse on Awaji Island in Hyogo by @oen.
  3. Ideal vegetable for summer meals. My choice is eggplant. by @madlenfox.
  4. Breakfast Talk: The Sonnet You Can't Take Seriously by @blockurator.
  5. Rain, hail and Caribbean habits by @karinxxl.
  6. Surduc lake, cool on a hot summer day by @carolinaelly.
  7. Beautiful Sunset. by @anotherboy.
  8. "Lumpang or Apam". by @geuchik.

Whaleshares photo contest winner:

Photo with a ball by @thehive.

About:

Every week our host, myself, @lindahas, @breezin and a guest curator select 12 posts from #postpromotion to present in a live curation that typically starts at 6 PM EST in #curation-lounge channel on Whaleshares server. Anyone is welcome to come along and spectate the discussion and everyone who does tune in and sticks around until the end of the event will be awarded with complimentary assets that are distributed by the host of the show @nikflossus.
There are no obligatory rules as to what kind of content you should create to catch a curator's attention, we're different people and we like different things; some shoot for longreads they enjoy, some prefer to browse through tutorials or art projects. We are people and our choices are subjective, of course. As the platform grows it gets harder to push your work out there and get noticed. However when it comes to scoping out top quality posts, we try our very best to point out the ones that received very little to no rewards.

To learn more about the Whaleshares Curation Show on Mondays I suggest you join Whaleshares Discord, check out the blog of our host @nikflossus and our community leader @officialfuzzy.

Image sources:
  1. https://pixabay.com
  2. http://aquaacores.pt


Sort:  

Thanks for the shout out. I might have made it tonight, but I went out instead. I spend so much time in. :-)

Well, that's a good thing you went out! I've been staying in a bunch recently too, so I know how that feels.
Your post was great, by the way, the only reason I didn't present it is that I'm not very well versed on poems' structure. Something to learn about.

thank you for sharing. today i discovered a new community. i don't remember the friend who sent me the server link but i appreciate it

Awesome, I'm glad you had fun!
Thanks!

excellent publication, thanks for sharing, I really did not know this community.

Welcome :)

Thanks for stopping by!

Keep working this community is great with people like you and thanks to our effort the community will continue to grow greetings and my respect.

Thanks for stopping by and thank you!

Haven’t noticed it and i’ve watched every episode

What are you talking about?!

Thanks for the mention and I hope it was a fantastic show!

No problem, I think it went good!

@ kotturinn, thank you for paying attention to my post :)

My pleasure!

excellent publication, thanks for sharing, I really did not know this community.today i discovered a new community. i don't remember the friend who sent me the server link but i appreciate it

Sounds good, have fun!

Thank you @kotturinn for this honor of mentioning @steem-hikers and curating us! :)

BTW, do you know that your nickname looks very icelandic?

No problem, I loved learning about y'all's adventure :D
Mhmm, I did know the origin of my nickname because I used to learn Icelandic haha.
Here's the recording:
https://busy.org/@breezin/334b1eb0-89e4-11e8-adb2-bf4283a63cb9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97