I want to contribute >> A tool to help Curators with formatting linkssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

I want to help though usually I don't know how I can, until ...

Steemit Help
Steemit Help was created by @sitaru

Intro

So there are these various curator projects or accounts ...

I don't know how many curating projects (or curators) are there, or how exactly they function.

I am aware of two or three.
One of them seems to me that has just shitloads of links and I don't have time nor desire to actually read all of them. And with this one, most of the time the posts are not even interesting to me.

Then there is a new project starting up which I am curious about (SteemTrail) and wonder how that one will end up.
And if it helps the community or the way Steemit works.

Then there is project @positivity and this one I follow and got me more interested to look into all this curation.
And I resonate with this one, cause the world, and Steemit needs more positivity.

The @positivity project was also a first project that I saw that I could actually help with some of my skills.

I would love to contribute to Steemit but I don't know Node.Js (Or whatever fancy framework that is being used).
And I am not a front-end web developer. (Though I do love and can develop front-ends for Android but I am not aware of any Android projects).
And my UX expertise is not that great either.

And I have no idea if there is anything else I could help with. Is there a list of potential projects for contribution that someone can point me to? I do have various skillsets so I'd be eager to help if there is a fit.

But I can code, and I love making things easier for people.

Problem

So when I saw that the highlighted posts in project @positivity are just links with no formatting I thought I could help with that.
First of all, it's annoying for the eye (at least mine) to try to parse the URL for the name of the article.
Second of all, it doesn't look that great.

And I think, from UX design perspective, all that actually leads to people clicking on the links less, or being less engaged.

And we don' want that.

We want people to appreciate good new information and articles. (Especially if we write em :P )

Solution

So here's a quick WebApp (If I can even call it that ...) coded in Python that attempts to solve this problem by taking a list of pasted links and outputting a list of Steem-ready links.

The Steemifyied Links show the name of the Article and the Author's name.

There is also a Copy to Clipboard function to speed up the copying.

An example:

Normal link
https://steemit.com/life/@joewantsfreedom/suffering-is-great-why-homelessness-stoicism-and-minimalism-keeps-me-happy-and-steady-as-a-rock

Formatted Link
Suffering Is Great Why Homelessness Stoicism And Minimalism Keeps Me Happy And Steady As A Rock --- by @joewantsfreedom

Conclusion and What's next?

This is a quick Alpha release but I really hope this helps at least somebody.

And if people will actually use it I am happy to work on it more.
I learn new things and at the same time I give back.

With that said, if you have any suggestions for new features or something you would like to be simplified or automated, let me know and I can look into it.
Or maybe even someone else would want to join up.

All the best,

And keep on helping each other

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37