You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inaugural round of Steem Community Curation: I'm driving steemcurator07!

in #curation4 years ago (edited)

Finding quality posts that are exclusive to Steem and also in the topics I'm focusing on is hard. Really hard. There are plenty of decent quality posts, but on many of them, the appraisal process reveals that they are also posted on one or more other platforms.

That's not surprising at all: if an author made the effort to write a post, especially when it was quite some hard work, there is no reason not to try twice to make money with it instead of only once. :)
In my case the average reward of a post is higher than a 100 % upvote of any steemcurator account. That's just an example how people might calculate (I personally think that a higher value of STEEM would be the key to success instead of maximizing my post rewards).

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply. I agree on all points, especially this: "I personally think that a higher value of STEEM would be the key to success instead of maximizing my post rewards". That's why I share beneficiary rewards from many of my posts so aggressively.

Of course, the value of STEEM is facing headwinds at the moment with all of the powerdowns going on.

The difficulty of finding exclusive Steem content is the reason I've been suggesting that people use the #steemexclusive tag. It makes it easier for an author to stand out from the crowd, not just for me, but for other curators, too.

At some point, I imagine that @cheetah will start tagging duplicate content on the Hive chain, but I suppose they're holding off on that during the 13 week powerdown period.

Of course, the value of STEEM is facing headwinds at the moment with all of the powerdowns going on.

Actually, one of my thoughts is that as long as people are powering down just to dump STEEM, the resulting low STEEM price could be kind of a well deserved punishment for them. :)

Another interesting component is the planned Blurt hardfork. Only STEEM holders (opposite to HIVE holders) will receive the Blurt airdrop at the beginning of July (and thus, the one who has powered down all his STEEM won't receive anything then). Then the STEEM price may rise again in case people will buy STEEM using Blurt ...

These things are all rather complex, but of course in the long run I think that only to produce, find and reward as much as possible quality content combined with effective measures against all the different kinds of abuse will save the day. :)

Actually, one of my thoughts is that as long as people are powering down just to dump STEEM, the resulting low STEEM price could be kind of a well deserved punishment for them. :)

Good point. Another thought that I've had is that when the price is low, curators will start to realize that the same money can buy a whole lot more influence on Steem than it can on Hive. The Hive witnesses were already highly influential before they left, and all of the changes over there have served to increase their control of their chain a great deal more. They shifted the stake that they might have had to compete with into the proposal system, and by dumping Steem and buying Hive, they increased their staking even more as a percentage of the total.

Another interesting component is the planned Blurt hardfork. Only STEEM holders (opposite to HIVE holders) will receive the Blurt airdrop at the beginning of July (and thus, the one who has powered down all his STEEM won't receive anything then).

I'm not familiar with this at all. Is it a real thing? Where can I learn more about it?

The Hive witnesses were already highly influential before they left, and all of the changes over there have served to increase their control of their chain ...

Yes, that's a big problem in my eyes: you cannot keep selling something as "decentralized" which is completely under the control of a few persons only.
I forgot if I already gave you the link to my post in which I criticized exactly that.

I'm not familiar with this at all. Is it a real thing? Where can I learn more about it?

That's their Discord.

I remember reading that article about Hive decentralization. Didn't realize you were the author, though. It was a good article. That team definitely has definitely been successful in PR, but IMO, that particular talking point and a number of others that have now become "conventional wisdom" have been less than accurate.

Thanks for the Discord link. I don't use Discord much, but I will check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65