Preppers' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 2

in #curation6 years ago

awl-710096_960_720.jpg

Image Source- Pixabay


Prepping Curation


There are many posts and curation pages displaying a wide array of topics, but yet have I discovered one solely dedicated to prepping, preppers and survival; and if there was one before I have not seen an update in months. So, in my endeavors to curate more topics under the main umbrella of homesteading, self-reliance, off-grid living and more, I will be doing a weekly post every Monday dedicated to preppers.

Topics I will be searching for include (but not restricted to):


  • Prepping
  • Survival
  • Self-reliance
  • Self-sustainability
  • Bushcrafting
  • Food prepping
  • Protection (of home, family and possessions)
  • DIY Health
  • 2nd Amendment concerns
  • Gear and supplies
  • Skills & DIY Instructions

Now keeping in mind these posts will be written by other steemians, considered good quality and not plagiarized.

When I find new posts in the above mentioned topics that meet criteria I desire the posts to have, I will post in upcoming Preppers Curation Day Weekly Editions and let the author know of the sharing and curation.

I will be looking through the Preppers Discord group and channels and taking recommendations from fellow preppers in the same group and community.


Prepping- SHTF Survival


@nxtblg


For one whole month... YES! Thirty days... @nxtblg did a SHTF diet. What's that you ask? He spent thirty days eating ONLY pre-prepared meals from Mountain House freeze dried food and meals. Every post- all thirty days are listed on this post and on his page.

He critiqued the meals, prepared the packets (along with us to watch) and on his final post; the conclusion of the test, he shared with us his findings.

Do you think you could do this? What if you had no other choice?

When the thirty days were up how how do you think he celebrated?

It's my first day after the SHTF Diet, which I celebrated by scarfing down a pizza, some chicken and bread bits as of 1 AM (2 AM DST.) Although a lot of relief was involved :) , I did so deliberately to accelerate any post-diet rebound and to make the final result more reasonable. As you're about to see, I lost twenty-two pounds or about 7.8% of my starting body weight


Prepping- Skills


@gogreenbuddy


Pine tar and birch oil are long forgotten products. They are long replaced by chemical oil products. The thing is that especially birch oil is a very usefull product. It has many uses; shampoo, mosquito detterant, hooves tar, heal wounds, leather protector and wood preservers.
Nowadays in modern times the soap is the most useful. It smells manly and it really helps against mosquitoes or city women. I also tend to use it on axe handles it gives grip in rainy conditions.

Birch oil? Have you ever used it? Do you know how to make it?
@gogreenbuddy shares the recipe in this post as well as a video for you to watch.

Birch oil may come in handy on any homestead, or in the event of a global catastrophe. Make sure to stop over and see the process in this post.


Prepping- 2nd Amendment


@zer0hedge


@zer0hedge has posted an article about one of Georgia's safest cities 'Requires' its citizens to own a gun. Head over and voice your opinion on this city's stance.

Could the answer to crime be in arming everyone?

This is what a Georgia town did 30 years ago and it has one of the lowest crime rates in the country. This really have the mainstream organizations that cover the gun control debate perplexed. CNN took a look at the issue and were impressed at the low crime rate. They felt the results could not definitively be attributed to the forced gun ownership




Do you, or do you know a fellow prepper and steemian who writes in the prepping genre and topic? Share their names below for possible use in a future edition of the Preppers' Curation Post.


Check out the Preppers Online Edition here


Preppers Discord Server, which you can join by this invite link - https://discord.gg/255Td3q


signature.gif



Sort:  

Thanks a lot for featuring my report!

You'e welcome! I know I came in at the end of your test but it still completely intrigued me!! WELL DONE!!

cool stuff, I had only read 2 out of three of those.

I am in! I will commit to posting one article per week in how I prep for possible SHTF. Great idea.

GREAT! I'll keep an eye on your page- although I already do- lol
You're one of my go-to pages I like to read over almost every day

Well I sure do appreciate that! It is busy season right now, so Between getting my little one to and from school, cheer and gymnastics and the farm... I find it hard to even get dishes done sometimes... But I have been trying to post at least once per day...

I used to wonder how you managed all this stuff, but then I saw your post about it. Now, I'm just more impressed how much work you get done on here by managing your time so well. Thanks for sharing great posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50