My personal exploration on effective curation

in #curation6 years ago

idea with lightbulb.png

Everyone wants a good curation reward by upvoting a good quality article or post.

Early curation effort

When I first started in steemit, I usually upvoted on quality articles that have high rewards which most members do.

Does high reward value of a post result in your high curation reward?

The brutal fact is ‘No!’.

The basic fact is that there are many contributing factors in gaining a good curation reward.

I did not manage to gain much curation reward simply looking at the value of the article since the reward of 25% will need to be proportion out based on the amount of steempower as well as the timing of your upvote after the post.

Noise.jpg

Low steem power is a hindrance to fast growth

Regardless of what many early steemit members said about you being able to grow your account into something bigger with great effort put in, the fact is that you will find yourself growing slowly even if you have been posting daily as well as commenting and building a great pool of followers.

Discouragement is not a friend after the time and effort put in to grow.

The deception of becoming a whale may be shattered after your great attempt for many months or even years.

You may see some who managed to grow speedily when compared to you but take a look at who are their supporters.

Some started out with a whale as a friend since they were invited by whales so naturally the whales will help them.

There are also some who managed to become friends with some whales after coming to this platform.

To speed up the growth, purchasing some steem power will accelerate everything and it also indicates a kind of commitment you have in steemit especially when steem price is low. Buying low steem price makes it more profitable even if you plan to sell it in future.

Even with high steem power does not always mean high value for your article if it is not of good quality actually. I do see authors who do not gain much upvotes even with high steem power. You should still research on how to write better articles by enhancing your content presentation.

With a higher steem power, you can have great power in upvote value which result in higher curation reward. With higher curation reward, you can grow your steem power even faster.

research.jpg

Spot the right author

The fact that popular authors have a large pool of supporters. Many of these supporters may be dolphins or even whales. Your upvote may not gain much if you have low steem power.

I personally may look for other emerging authors who may not necessary have many followers or dolphins but with some decent quality articles with reasonable article value. You will notice a difference with the curation reward once you can spot one.

With the present situation, you notice that most members are focusing on articles related to growth in steemit and cryptocurrency. I do not deny that there are good articles.

artists.png

Curating quality posts of artists, video creators and audio creators

I have recently started supporting good artists in @dtube and @dsound.

@dtube and @dsound will upvote selected posts by song artists as well as video creators. With some quality videos or audios, there can be high value posts through their upvotes without many members with high steem power upvoting it.

Without many members upvoting and a high value post, it is really an opportunity to gain greater curation reward without the fierce competition like the popular ones.

By doing so, we are supporting good artists as well as video creators to grow in steemit. Steemit is not really just about cryptocurrency alone. It aims to have a large variety of content.

To have a greater growth, it is important to dive into areas that not many members are exploring yet and you can reap the best opportunities through them. This is also the spirit of entrepreneurship.

Get more upvotes.jpg

Use of steemit tools

By identifying the right authors or artists to support, the fact is that you are not able to be at a computer to support them 24 hours a day.

You can consider using steemvoter or steemauto to help you to follow and upvote their posts.

In this way, you will not miss out any of their articles by having to auto-upvote their posts and visit to read and comment later.

I have also used steemvoter to support my steemit friends that I have made after joining few months.

In this way, I am able to regularly upvote the quality articles posted by my steemit friends and give them a bit of my support. By doing so, we are building a community of supporters for quality articles, artists and video creators.

Monitor your voting power regularly

There is a area that I have to constantly look out for is my Voting power.

It can be drained quite an extensive level and I will not want it to go below 80%.

I have recently decided to give my upvoting in steemvoter different breaks to regain my voting power.

For new members, every 100% vote weight is a deplete of 2% of your voting power. It takes slightly more than 2 hours just to recharge that one 100% vote that you make.

When you keep voting without maintaining a reasonable voting power, your vote becomes less value actually and your curation reward is also affected.

You can easily check your upvote value and voting power using the steemit tool www.steemnow.com

This is the end of my article and I hope you have gained some ideas about how to improve your curation effort more effectively.

Disclaimer: This is my personal reflection and I am not in any position to instruct anyone what they should do. I am not responsible for any action taken as a result of this post. My post can only be a reference for your further research and growth. By reading this post, you acknowledge and accept that. All images and pictures were taken from google images that are free from copyright under labelled for reuse.

Sort:  

And if the author has a much higher sp than you, and selfvote at the 0 minute of his post, your curation reward will be virtually zero.
A minnow account cannot rely on curation reward to grow. Authoring and creating good content is the only way.
Nowadays when I upvote minnows' posts, I don't really aim for 20-30 minute anymore. I will even upvote at the first minute or whenever I come across the post. It is better to help them earn author rewards and grow. In the long term, win-win situation for everyone.

I agree totally as steem price has gone down so much that a minnow who does not purchase any steem power will not really have value in their upvote resulting not getting curation reward. With the low steem price, the best solution for minnow to grow is to write good content articles.

@fun2learn another great article. This one made me sad though based on what you're saying....I'm screwed LOL. Well until I can work on getting some more SP. It is really nice to see that after the couple of changes you mentioned that you're starting to really generate a good level of honest upvoting. Keep up the good work. It' is much appreciated.

Thank you! It is true that you can still slowly build up some steem power with nice articles but takes longer. If you can sing or put up nice videos or audios, you can also grow fast as dtube and dsound do give quite a good upvote if your videos or audios are good.

I like that you said the truth as it is. With low voting power, it'll take one time to get anything meaningful out of this platform. SOme people go all out shouting, create quality contents and you'll rise. That's the biggest lie I've been seeing about this platform.

I tend to see quality posts with nothing to show, not even good number of views. Members here don't read for its being helpful, everyone is after the incentive.

That is why steemit for won't ever be in the ranks of medium or reddit.

Have to agree with you on this, at least for the moment. I think when hivemind is release, things will change. Look forward to that.

Thanks for your comment. Regardless of how much we talk about the interest of blogging online, it is true that most people are interested mainly in earning money. Nevertheless, quality content article does get some upvotes but it really takes more time than expected. I did see new artists in dtube or dsound who are able to get nice upvotes from dtube or dsound. We can also grow fast if we are talented in this area actually if we can post quality videos or audios.

I never made much from curation, I now delegated 90% of my SP to @jerrybanfield and @minnowhelper

There are many ways to earn. Delegating your SP to a bot is definitely one of those where little effort is needed.

Thank you for your post, it is encouraging as usual. One advice caught my eye, that is: “To have a greater growth, it is important to dive into areas that not many members are exploring yet and you can reap the best opportunities through them. This is also the spirit of entrepreneurship.” Hm ... I think that I should take more time and think about this thought. Thx and see you around 👋🏻

You're most welcome! Hope to see you reap better opportunities soon! Thanks for visiting my article!

This is so true. I get more rewards from upvoting my fellow musicians than the upvotes to these big accounts i thought i would get more from. Definitely a good strategy to upvote small accounts that have some real good content, using the tools provided. I appreciate your upvotes as well!! thank you and salute!!

You're welcome! Supporting one another is important too!

very interesting read, thank you for the tips

Thanks for reading and visiting my blog.

Such a good article. I really learned a lot from this article. I had no idea that the time that I upvoted had anything to do with things or that I should vote for certain people to earn more curation rewards. I have only been upvoting and commenting on the posts that I really enjoy without looking at the currency aspect of things. I'm not saying that knowing these things will or will not cause me to change my voting habits but it is very valuable to get an understanding of how things work. Since I have only been on here a short time, I still have a lot to learn. I don't seem to acquire a lot of upvotes and even fewer comments. I assume, now after reading this, it has a lot to do with the curation reward aspect of things. Thanks for this article.

You are welcome! Hopefully it has given you additional knowledge to improve your stay in steemit!

Steemit is definitely a learning experience. I do appreciate the post and any help that I can get. Thanks again.

Weldone great teacher. You are truly awesome as always. I have learned

another great article by fellow #teamsingapore ! yeah! upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74