Sports Betting Blog Curation

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

sportscuration.jpg

I've been wanting to use some of my voting power to help support new and existing members who post sports betting related content on Steemit. In the past I did an attempt by introducing the upvotemybets Tag, but there honestly was very little I could really get behind as a sports bettor.

I now plan on making a monthly curation list of Sports Betting blogs that are somewhat serious with a long term plan on Steemit and spread around up to 10%-20% of my daily voting power trough auto-upvotes using Steemvoter. Even though it won't be that not much, I know how important it can be to get guaranteed upvotes on your posts specially when starting on this platform.


The main things I personally look out for in sports betting related blogs...


Keeping Track of Betting Results

It blows my mind how many people are posting bets without any form of record keeping. Even though the results themselves don't matter so much, the fact that they are closely tracked and available to check makes a world of difference and is often a huge indication on longer term success. So posting with proper stakes and odds while keeping a record with links to where it can be backtracked is a huge factor.

Consistent Posting

One of the things I don't really like about Steemit is the fact that totally unrelated items are often being posted without the ability to filter them out of your feed or exclude them from auto-curation. Some kind of predictability when it comes down to amount of post and not having too many is also nice. Most on steemit agree that 1 or 2 post maximum each day is optimal.

Steemit Engagement

Many people tend to try out Steemit, but most have a short term aim to make money which is not something that works on this platform. Someone who shows a longer term game plan on this platform and gets engaged in the community by commenting and upvoting others is what we need here. Actively Powering Up tends to be a great indication to separate the ones who are here for the short or the long run. This doesn't mean one has to buy Steem, using SBD earnings or Contest Winnings to get more Steem Power or give some back by hosting a contest with a guaranteed prize pool yourself also makes a huge difference.

Quality Content

Even though quality can be debated, some things are just very unlikely to work when it comes down to Sports Betting from my own experience. Some of the things that instantly raise red flags to me...

  • Betting combo bets
  • Low odds selections
  • Not shopping for best odds
  • Using terms like "Guaranteed Lock"
  • Using joke bookmakers that limit players
  • Copy-Paste content

Post Layout Efforts

The efforts that are being made in making posts look nice and easy to digest for readers is another great indicator for longer term commitment. Using markup, tables, custom text size, relevant links to previous posts and suitable pictures that fit make a nice thumbnail are all small things that can be done to improve and grow your blog without it having to cost that much time.

Steemit Etiquette

Having some basic Steemit Etiquette helps. Use your upvotes wisely and don't drain your voting power all the way down but keep it at 70%+. Don't self-upvote excessively or overly use upvote bots right after having made a post. Pretty much try using Steemit in a responsible way!


These are pretty much the major things I try to do myself and look out for in others to support with auto-upvotes on Steemit. I will soon make a curation post with blogs that roughly meet these ideas and keep track of who is on my steemvoter list in the hope to help members grow and stay motivated while at the same time maybe inspire more Sports Bettors to start using Steemit.

Sort:  

I'm new to steemit and there's a lot to be learned.

Until today I've posted each tip separately, but from now on I'll aggregate all the tips for the day as one blog post.

You say that excessive auto-voting your own posts is bad form so I'm not gonna do it anymore.

Right now my blog is a mess but I do post each day and I'm looking to improve it. It would be nice if steemit had a feature to pin one blog post at the top of the blog. I'd use that post to track my record.

I'm looking to improve my blog and would like to hear your suggestions.

There is nothing wrong with upvoting your own posts btb (I'm calling you btb as it's easy)
excessive self-upvoting is when you also upvote many of your own comments and such, you can check you voting behavior on this website (this doesn't always show the true picture though).

It takes a while to find your own way of posting on this platform, a while ago I made a post on the steemit basics which might give some good ideas.

Feel free to ask when you have more questions !
I'm always open to help out if I find the time.

Thank you costanza for your help.

Cool idea. There's a great sports betting community here, so congrats on helping to support and grow it.

I think your criteria is sound. Perhaps you can summarize the blogs you end up supporting at some point so we can all chip in and give them a positive push. Cheers!

That's indeed the idea to keep watching out for great sports betting related blogs and make a monthly "curation post" about new ones that get added. I will be sorting out my steemvoter and make a post about the ones who are currently on it probably after the busy betting weekend is over.

In the end the upvotes won't be worth that much, but I know from experience that these kind stable upvotes do often make a positive difference for some.

Great post @costanza, upvoted and followed for the long term. Thanks again.

This is a nice idea, i remembered back in the days when i took into blogging, i had a blog calleds odds4, where i give out four odds daily, the work was much with no returns.

Good idea..
But, I've stopped to play sports betting

I hope I Can stop play sports betting :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40