You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Pre-ANN] OCD-Bot

in #curation7 years ago

The reasoning I've heard as to why these services are good:

  1. Smaller and new users would not make anything if they couldn't buy a boost for their posts.

That is a false statement, and an idiotic (in my opinion) statement. I have not bought any votes, I have only called on o-works a couple of times, (my wife wanted to know how it worked) on my own work. I have for other people's work though. I have muted a lot of bots, mostly resteem bots, they seemed to be everywhere last month. I have also muted several minnow support type bots.

If someone wants money or a vote from me to provide a service that promises even a 2% ROI, then it is an unsustainable system. Unless of course the person making the offer is doing so out of a philanthropic heart.

I just made it 100 days on steemit, and the only help I have had along the way, has been the votes of other steemians. I now have 157SP, and my vote is worth just slightly more than a penny.

To conclude the number 1. reason for needing a paid for vote scheme is just that a scheme. Of course that is just my opinion, I am sure some people that have been here for more than 9 months might disagree with me, and some would agree. That is life.

Sort:  

"I just made it 100 days on steemit, and the only help I have had along the way, has been the votes of other steemians. I now have 157SP, and my vote is worth just slightly more than a penny."

In other words, you've made next to no money or reputation. In over 3 months, at current price, you are averaging about $1.40 a day. Perhaps if you lived in Mongolia, this would qualify as an OK minimum wage job.

Gee, it sounds like this applies to you:

"Smaller and new users would not make anything if they couldn't buy a boost for their posts."

If this was a job for me, or a second form of needed income it would be a very poor choice I agree. But the fact is it is not a second income for me, and as you have pointed out if it was it would be a poor choice. I'm just here for the fun of it, not to make money. The money part is a nice bonus though. Unlike you I do not have 25,000 dollars laying around to "invest" in stemmit. So I pretty much just use the social side of steemit. Congratulations to you and all the success you have had since June of this year.

we paid much more for our steem. both lexi and I have actually lost a lot.

it was more like 65000 =( and 110000 =(

With the advent of SMT's coming, and the news of a big investor, maybe you will begin to see a return on your investment. There is always the possibility of steem going up.

yes i am hoping. price hasnt moved yet from that 20 million story.

With all the holidays and things slowing down, maybe mid Jan. or Feb. I really don't know or follow the stock markets or crypto very much. Just guessing like everyone else things slow to a hectic pace about now till Jan 10th or so. And really no loss until you start to withdraw.

@nikez452 have you heard of APPICS. HODL your steem and expect to get a big return in July as that is when the price of steem will go up again.

Nice, I'm just approaching 2 months, probably like 45 days right now. I'd say this approach to the platform is the most steady. Steem has been volatile and the platform is evolving so it feels better to me to go slowly and just produce the content that I like along the way.

I do think that it's interesting to track account SP and Reputation against each other. I think there is probably some correlation depending how a user approaches publishing in terms of schedule and originality (thats saying nothing for depth or frequency which I think are also factors to a degree).

At any rate, it's good to see other folks that joined around the months that I did and learn about the perspective to Steemit. Thanks for putting your thoughts up here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61116.15
ETH 2413.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62