You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Selling Future Earnings!? How to Solve Steemit's Curation Problems

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

I was agreeing with your above article, but then you changed your mind because of 'revo', so now I'm off on my own again.

You are looking at the ideas just from your point of view. Here is what I think (I have made my arguments with some of the whales, but I was ignored).

I found an author who is posting a page or two of their novel per day. They were on post eighty-something. I liked what I read, so I looked for the url for post 1. For all those eighty-something posts, I cannot thank the author with an upvote. I think it is wrong! (Never mind that she had already finished another novel which i got to read without rewarding the author).

Basically, I see these kind of rules as the equivalent of politicians (and corporate dictators) who think they are entitled to limit us so that we are forced to live according to rules that suit them.

For instance, another pet peeve. I had someone mention a mistake in grammar and I wanted to correct it. However, the 'edit' button had been removed. It means that for as long as the blockchain exists, anyone who reads my post is going to have to read the shitty version. I reposted a corrected version, but then was warned that the community frowns on reposting and cheeta could flag me. It nearly made me leave Steemit.

I am not an anarchist, but I do not see why rules that limit our freedom exist just so as to suit the few.

EDIT:
PS. If YouTube can reward you for your video for as long as people watch it, I hate to think that Steemit is more small-minded. Hmm, what if I asked you to advertise my product on your site, but I will only pay you for any sales for the first week, month or year! Surely if you are compelled to keep my advert on your site forever, then you should also be rewarded forever?

Or are we against free trade and common sense?

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply! I have been doing a lot of thinking since I first wrote this post and I think I have decided that I agree with my original opinion. Why shouldn't that novel get votes after the first week? If there are less rewards for the new content, so what? What about the old content now? Why is it worth any less?

There might be a technical reason why you can't receive rewards after the first week, but if not, it should be done! I think it is the same with editing. I think after a certain amount of time, the post is locked into the blockchain and it can't be edited. But if they can think of a way to make it so you can, that would be great.

Thanks for letting me know. I took a look at some of the other comments. I understand the points made by most of them though I don't have a clue as to what SMT's are.

As for the comment by 'nedspeaks', I maybe have not understood, but I did not think the point of our comments was that we want to deprive investors, we were, well, I was, hoping for a way for talent to be rewarded, instead of those who only concentrate on clicking posts. I just saw one of my posts has had 19 votes, but only 4 visitors! I don't want those votes, I want the 'missing' visitors/readers!

By the way, guess which was my best rewarded post? When you opened the post, all it had was one word!

Heck, if people decide my stories were worth reading, they are more than likely going to tell themselves, let me give this story an upvote, I enjoyed it/it made me think/it made me feel...or whatever. That would mean far more to me.

Exactly, it is about making connections and learning from each other. Then, as an added bonus, people might reward us with some steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88