You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🔁🐺Extreme Opinion on Self-Voting and Upvotes🐉🔁

in #curation7 years ago

This has definitely been a hot topic lately. I feel like as long as you're supporting others more than your supporting yourself it should be fine. I mean we all use upvote bots right?

Sort:  

I use upvote posts for my rare article posts because I haven't yet built a following and I want a shot at a few minutes on the hot page to help me do that.
I have it from a few upvote bot owners that people tend to stop using the upvote bots once they start regularly earning in the teens with their post rewards.

Yes and those are good intentions. It gives them a boost they normally couldn't achieve themselves. That's the same reason I've used them. If you grab about three, I find it bumps you up the the top ten typically, and you stay there for a few hours...depending on the tags you've chosen.

I don't know if all of us do, I do from time to time. And you do see my point. If it was all about the content, NO bots like that would be allowed to exist..

NO bots like that would be allowed to exist..

True, except the economic system ES and the "collective social norms" CSN are never going to be a perfect match. For one, the CSN is a fuzzy moving target lacking consensus and communicated by posts, comments and voting. Our ES is a simplified algorthmic distillation imposed via hardforks and agreed to by our witness votes.

The point I was trying to make is that it would be solely left up to the people on the platform where the votes go and for what. Like I said up there...just some total crap I've seen in the hot tabs via way of the powerful bot votes. And you're right it won't. One bot I've come to love is @originalworks. If something like that could be intertwined with cheetah and the algorithms more acute...that would be a plus for the platform. The only thing would be posts that are similar and meant to be i.e. contest posts etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50