I've decided to stop upvoting myself because it's not worth it [2]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

One month ago, on July 26th, I decided to stop upvoting myself and only give my upvotes to other authors. I predicted in this post that I could earn much more by doing so.

My current 100% upvote is worth 2 cents. If I were to upvote myself 10 times a day (not to go below 80% voting power) I would earn 20 cents per day. That would translate to 6 SBD per month.

That's only theoretically, because this scenario would never happen in practice. I create around 1-2-3 posts per day. I would have to force myself to find enough posts to comment on to fill the remaining 'quota' for self-upvotes until I reach 10. I am not willing to comment just for the sake of commenting to upvote myself. Also, I find it strange to upvote my own comments.

So, in practice, by upvoting my own posts, I would normally earn around 2 SBD per month.

==========

Since July 28th I've been using https://steemvoter.com/ to automate my voting habits and thus to increase my curation rewards. I've created a list of my favorite authors from those that I decided to follow and added them to my Steem Voter. I've continually updated this lists in the past 30 days.

By doing this I increased my curation rewards by almost 400%.

That might sound like a big number, but translated to actual $ it's not much. At the time of writing this post I've earned 4.666 kV in the past 30 days from curation. I might be wrong on this and please let me know if I am, a little over 2.000 kV translates to 1 STEEM. So, I earned a little over 2 STEEM from curation. That's about 3 SBD.

==========

Some data bellow, thanks to steemdb.com

These were my curation rewards on July 26th, the day I stopped self-upvoting.

These were my curation rewards on August 2nd, a week since I started using Steem Voter.

My curation rewards on August 10th.

steemdb3 - 27.08.png

My curation rewards today, August 27th.

==========

Since using Steem Voter I increased my upvotes number from around 5-10 per day to 40-60 per day.


A chart indicating my number of upvotes on August 7th. The little red circle indicated the day I started using Steem Voter.


A chart indicating my number of upvotes today on August 27th.

==========

I earned 3 SBD from curation in the past 30 days, but practically I didn't make a profit because I paid 3 SBD for the premium service for Steem Voter that allows me to have 500 rules. Otherwise I would be allowed only 10 rules because of my current Steem Power. :-)

I'll continue using Steem Voter and pay for it's premium service for at least 1 or 2 months.

I think that by continually readjusting my rules, the voting power, the time of upvoting and the list of authors, I might be able to start making a profit. Of course, the first target would be to make at least a profit of 2 SBD per month, what I would normally earn if I were to self-upvote my posts. The second target would be to make at least a profit of 6 SBD per month, what I could earn if I were to give 10 100% upvotes to myself.

I could probably earn more from curation if I were to be more pragmatic and upvote posts from more well known authors that have posts that often become huge.

And of course, I would talk about different numbers if I were to have more Steem Power. :-)

=======

Although Steem Voter automates my voting, it's kinda a semi-automated process. I read many of the posts that are upvoted. There were a couple of times I removed my upvote because I didn't like the posts for various reasons. Also, I've chosen to add to my Steem Voter only authors that I currently follow and which content I enjoy the most.

Unfortunately, at the current moment, my upvote doesn't count for much. It contributes more to the reputation score than their wallet. :-)

Sort:  

Nice and New :)
Keep it up

I don't know anything about the steemvoter, but, don't you just feel better?

Upvoted and followed, and welcome to the community.

H. G.

thanks for show me steemvoter i will try it!

Do you have to give someone access to your login details to use it? Not sure how I feel about that. I was going to buy some delegation from minnowbooster, but didn't for the same reason.

Only your posting key. Nothing to worry about. They can't use or access anything related to your wallet.

Thanks for reminding me about the option of renting/buying some delegated Steem power. I should probably try this. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45