You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A little advice, when you use @randowhale

in #curation-rewards7 years ago (edited)

My view of things like @randowhale

You're holding it wrong!

I think it's a good idea, but people are using it the wrong way. People tend to use it for gaining some profit by letting it vote early. They see a way to pay 2 SBD and receive more back. But that's just wrong usage 😣

It's a reward mechanism for other writers and followers!

Since it's not good to make your biggest reward coming in before everyone else votes you will ALWAYS reward your curators and not only yourself. Why then use it as a money maker?

Instead you should look at @randowhale and WhaleShares as a way to reward your curators, if you vote on your own posts. But I personally think that these services should be best put in practice of promoting other posts that you find undervalued.

This way you pay a small "fee" to make good promotion for writers you like, make them more visible and also reward these that curated it. You can gain some instant power without having to own a huge sum of coins.

Conclusion

So stop using it as a way to gain money, use it to promote other writers and possibly by rewarding your followers.

Vote @sc-steemit for Witness.

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

It is being used as a part of the #payitforward scheme. I used it too a few times already and will write about it. Since my vote isn't going to make a big difference on its own...I donated 2 SBD @randowhale so that it would give authors a random vote on a post as a way to #payitforward since I got inspired by @kennyskitchen to find good content creators and share some good vibes on Steemit. Minnows should unite.

I had no idea about the order of it - that getting a randowhale vote in the first minutes after you post hurt curators. I'm sure a lot of people don't actively think about it. I know now. I have to disagree that it's wrong to have randowhale vote on your own post.

That said, it's best used on the posts of others as well. I think everyone can benefit :-)

Oh no, take my words back - I've tried and this is GOLD. You feel yourself as whale, who vote and it counts.

That's what I mean. You gain the power of a whale without having to invest a huge amount of money into the platform.

So stop using it as a way to gain money, use it to promote other writers and possibly by rewarding your followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64