The Joy Of Curating (adults only)

in #curating6 years ago (edited)

Here's an underused tag if ever there was one! On this site, you're either a creator, a curator, both... Or a nobody.

Creating is difficult. You have to be original and then it might all fall on deaf ears. So is there a point? For most, the answer has to be a resounding 'no' but does that stop them? Of course, it doesn't. The little fish all dream of being big fish and feel churning out work is the way to become one. Some naughty ones plagiarise material. Others take random pictures of crap and call it art. There are a million-and-one ways to skin a cat, aren't there? It's just most get real messy real quick.

Hmmm....

So, man then goes and invents the BID BOT.

The creator sees this and thinks:

I think I'll have some of that. I could try to convince other people they should be upvoting my material so I'll buy myself a few votes to get the ball rolling. If I make enough curators enough dough, some day I might be able to stop with the bid bots essentially tricking the curators into curating my produce even though I've removed the financial incentive.

And here we get a war of attrition!

Capture.JPG
It's dog eat dog, big fishy eat little fishy in this world

The curator knows exactly what the creator's game is and thinks:

Most people are using the bidbots to exaggerate the value of their work. So that other people will take an interest and start giving upvotes that the material hardly deserves. If we're being honest. A creator could give these incentives to a point and then - somewhat slyly - stop giving them. If they're lucky (or if there are enough curators dumb enough) they'll get to keep having their material upvoted sufficiently to keep them happy. Making them considerably more profit than they would have otherwise. But we curators are smart cookies.

We'll just move on.

But it's not a war of attrition at all. It's an EASY WIN for the curator.

The curator then also thinks:

What I could do - as my account begins to bulge - is make sure my upvotes never change in value (even though the maximum does continue to grow as the account grows, obviously). For example, I could have a 10 cent upvote. Alternatively, if I have a max upvote of a dollar, I could set my voting to 10% to enable me to keep my 10 cent upvote. AND I'LL GET TEN TIMES MORE VOTES THIS WAY!!!

If a creator pulls a fast one and stops buying votes, I'll only lose 10 cents and then stop curating their work. There are so many people buying upvotes, I'll always be able to find fresh meat - so to speak.

PLEASE UPVOTE (big / little) IF YOU FOUND THIS TO BE USEFUL AND IS GENUINELY WORTHY OF AN UPVOTE.

Alternatively, post something of little value and buy yourself some upvotes instead.

I still win in the end. 😉

Image - copyright Alisha Brown, taken from anglersatlas.com licensed for reuse

The link to part 2 - Yes, there's more to this!

Sort:  

that's a big fish

About a million times bigger than any fish I've ever caught! ;)

great

I'm glad you like it, @gulamsohid. Curating for profit has to be the easiest thing in the world. Why not learn the ropes on steemit as a curator? Then, when your account's started to grow, comment and post more. You can then even move onto self-upvotes to really get your reputation rising.

Never stop dreaming. Experiment often, also.

Great post. Things can improve as long as we keep talking about it. Great post. Upvoted and resteemed.
Joy

Thank you, @sweetjoy. Slightly generic a comment but some people have busier lives than others, I guess.

I meant every word.
I am the orginator of the comment....technically it is not generic until it is rewritten by someone else. :)
Look at my rep and your rep.
Look at my comment #
Hmmm. Seems like you got some work to do my friend.
Let me go review your comments to see how you do it better.....;(

Maybe try upvoting your commenters...seek attention that way.

I do on occasion. But for me it'll always be the thought that counts where comments are concerned. No one made you comment, you chose to. No-one makes me upvote them, I will if I choose to. Thanks for the great in-depth comment of 16 mins ago all the same. (But I do disagree with your definition of the word 'generic'.)

Is that my work finished would you say, friend?

And rep means jack. You could have raised it through self-upvoting for all I know. I know I did mine.

And did you really resteem the post? For it's not showing on steemdb.com that you did. Hmmm....

Well yes...it shows i did. No hard feelings. I am a grandma. I put no money in. Good day!
Joy

I stand corrected. I apologise. I just checked your own blog (don't know why I didn't go there first tbh) and see you did indeed resteem it. In my defence, I'm sure you're aware a fair few people make similar such claims dishonestly to curry favour off other members. And - as I say - the site I checked on does appear to be down and didn't show it.

You get your upvote! ;)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

It is better to let curating serve the purpose it was intended. The return from curation is always marginal anyways.

We beg to differ there on both counts, I guess. Maybe you're not doing it 'right'? If we only upvote 'quality' material, would anyone upvote anything? Ever? I mean, seriously, the site has much worse problems than people curating this way. And then curation trails are allowed, are they not? What's that about???

How many photos of someone's dinner do we need to see? Are they quality? Because you'll get enough whales making a fortune off similar such shite material.

Thanks for your input all the same. But if you can't beat them (and you can't), join them?

What's done is done.

If we start changing the rules drastically, people will leave in droves. Driving the price of steem to the ground. And we're all left with nothing.

So whilst, idealistically, I totally agree with what your saying, I can't help but feel we created a bit of a wild west and we're pretty much stuck with it. Those who strongly disagree should probably leave?

Great stuff. New info for me. Thanks for sharing the brilliant tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46