In South Africa We Braai For Fun!

in #culturevulture7 years ago

So you want to know what a South African gets up to on the weekend? WE BRAAI! Yes, we light up our fires, put on good music and prepare delicious food. This is how the majority of us come together, socialize and relax. This weekend called for some much needed family time and after hitting the beach with my husband and two-year-old, we headed to the grocery store for supplies and then headed home to "start the fire".

Ok, I understand that at this point there might be a few of you who are a tad confused - "whats's a B.R.A.A.I"? It's the Afrikaans word for what most of the world calls a BBQ (barbecue), simply put. While America and the UK (excuse my ignorance if I've missed a country) start there electric grills, we indulge in the real thing! We use coal and fire to create the perfect oven for cooking meals outdoors, we like to keep it old-school like that!

The sun was out, the fresh beach air had re-energized us and we were ready to relax outside and eat a good hearty meal as a family. Just look at these glowing coals, how can you not want to stand around them and stare into them, mesmerized? Some might say that lighting a fire and preparing a meal over it is meditative - I have to agree!

(this is a photo I took of our weekend braai)

South Africans (well most of us) are huge meat eaters (yes, this does make me feel guilty, obviously not guilty enough)! But while we enjoy a good steak, we enjoy the side dishes that compliment braai food just as much. Some of my favorite side dishes include a green salad, potato salad, potato bake and pumpkin pie. This weekend we indulged in the potato salad and pumpkin pie:

(these are my photos)

I honestly have no clue when "braaing" become a South African  tradition or why it is made such a big deal of in our country - but I have yet to meet a born and bred Saffer that doesn't braai at least once a month (including the zulu people). This is our number one way of celebrating family, friendships, sports (in SA, braaing is abused by rugby players - think "MAN MUST EAT MEAT") and a simple warm and sunny day. 

While "traditionally" the men would stand around the fire cooking the meet and the women would buzz around the kitchen preparing the rest of the food, the concept has evolved to equalize gender equality - in my home at least! So sometimes I will find myself manning the fire while my husband is preparing the salad, we just go with the flow here! Even my little guys gets a turn to the meat (supervised of course).

My little guy MANning the fire:

Family braai time:

So yes, we do braai for fun, ALL the time, come sunshine and on the odd occasion, in rain too! While the concept of braaing was first introduced by the Afrikaans people, it has spread across the country, to people of all different races and cultures (South Africa is a very diverse country)! It's in our blood, it's common ground. The fire acts as a beacon that has the tendency to unite people and the good food is enjoyed by all!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

#africa


Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Yay, thank you!

Such a great post. Love it.

One question how do you pronounce Braai?

Ah now I feel like kicking myself for not making mention of that, in my ignorance I just assumed everyone would know! You pronounce it like this: br "eye" - hope that makes sense? Thank you for your compliment!

Cool, I cant wait till I meet the next South African in Dublin. I can ask them about their next br "eye" :)

Ha ha, I hope you come across one soon. Ask them about Boerewors - boo ri vors

i love bbq ;) meat is most important food, so yea its Braai time

Ha ha, glad you enjoy a good braai too! Thanks for stopping by! Much love, @sweeptea

That is one monster sausage, looks great.!!

When I BBQ it is only ever over coals, if it isn't a real fire it's not a BBQ .

I'm so glad that you do it traditionally and not by "starting up the grill"!

Looks tasty and like a lot of fun!

This post has received a 3.56 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eroche.

Awesome, thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89