Introducing Japanese Traditional New Years Shopping FUKUBUKURO ~ HAPPY NEW YEAR Lucky Bag ~

in #culturevulture7 years ago (edited)

BeFunky Collage6.jpg

Happy New Year Steemians!
Today I would like to share japanese traditional way to celebrate new year by shopping.
On January 1st people wake up very early to go shopping to buy FUKUBUKURO as known as lucky bag / mystery bag.
We stand on the line before shops open, as soon as store opens, people rush to buy the lucky bag they are trying to get.
It is similar to boxing day in Canada or black Friday in the U.S.A
It's madness!

What is lucky bag?
Lucky bag is known as mystery bag.
You won't know what you get until you open the bag but stores briefly tell you what's in it.
For example, this bag has one scarf, pants, skirt, a sweater and hat.
They also tell you how much items in there, so it's worth buying!
Usually Lucky decent lucky bag cost $50 and has $120 worth of items in there or sometimes more.
When you hear that, you feels very lucky right?

Why buy lucky bag?
Since you know one bag contains way more worth items in there, you already feel lucky and worth buying.
Also it is like little luck challenge to see if you get something you like!
Look at this Toys"R"Us lucky bag, it is about $39.99 and this much items in one bag!
Don't you think that's great deal? Some of store shows example like that to help customer's decision.
IMG_2466.JPG
IMG_2467.JPG

If you go to a mall, most of the store has own lucky bag or great deal.
So shopping during new year is the best time to shop in Japan :)
Even COACH has their own lucky bag for new years.
IMG_2472.JPG

IMG_2468.JPG

IMG_2469.JPG

Every year I get Pokemon PikaPika lucky bags!
They are very popular that you have to stand on the line before the shop opens.
I will tell you what I got in another vlog :)
IMG_2365.JPG

I also buy Baskin Robbins ice cream lucky bag every year.
I bought 2 bags.
It is $20 and you get $20 gift card plus all these Baskin Robbins and Snoopy Collaborated goods.
So pretty much all these snoopy goods are free!

IMG_2377.JPG

IMG_2378.JPG

This is such a cut paper folder!
I like getting something useful.
BeFunky Collage4.jpg

BeFunky Collage2.jpg

You can chose drink case or bag.
I really couldn't choose so I bought 2 bags.
IMG_2391.JPG

This is KFC lucky bag.
It is also a great buy!
It is $25 and you get $24 worth of fried chicken, a bottle of biscuit syrup, coupons and this amazing bag!
The one in left is this year's bag and right one is from last year.
It is insulated bag with zippers, so they are very useful!
写真(2018-01-0219.38)3.jpg

BeFunky Collage67.jpg

At New Chitose Airport, they were promoting Japanese SAKE and giving out cup of sake for free :)
Yes, that's the new years japanese spirit!
They were so generous that I got 2 cups and my mother gave me a cup.
Cheers!
What the great way to start new year!
IMG_2351.JPG

BeFunky Collage5.jpg

They had wine tasting as well.
BeFunky Collage8.jpg

If you ever come to Japan, coming here for new year is the best time to get all the goodies for amazing price.
I highly recommend it!
Why getting ourselves so busy first day of the year? Now you know why!
You should join us one day :)

BeFunky Collhage.jpg

福袋は買いに行きましたか?
私はね、ポケモンセンター限定のピカピカバッグを買いに行きました!
お年玉の殆どをポケモンに捧げるのが恒例行事なのだヾ(´▽`)
レビューは明日のブログに書こうと思います!
期待を裏切らない最高の福袋ですぞ♡

それに、サーティワンとケンタッキーの福袋も毎年買っています。
ちなみにアメリカでサーティワンに行こう!と言っても、は?31がどうした?と思われます。
アメリカではバスキンロビンスって呼びます!
それはさておき、サーティワンの福袋は2000円ですが2000円分の券が入っていてスヌーピーコラボグッズが貰えるのでとてもお得!
実質スヌーピーコラボグッズが無料\(^o^)/
よくアイス食べるし、ケーキ買ったりするのでとても便利な福袋なのでオススメ。
福袋を買いに行った空港では日本酒やワインが配られていて最高の年明けとなりました!
日本酒はカップに結構入っていて大盤振る舞いでした。
あぁ〜おめでたいですなぁ〜
それでは皆さん楽しいお正月を大切な人と過ごしてくださいね〜♬

Thank you so much for reading my vlog!
Do you have any question?
If you do, please feel free to ask me!

Be healthy & Live Happy ❤️

Thank you so much for reading my blog!
Don't forget o follow me and give me upvote ✨
I truly appreciate your support 😊
Have a wonderful day 🎈

Sort:  

今年もネタが豊富な予感。

今年も任天堂が色々発売しますからね😊

🐕ちゃん凄く凛々しい👍

ありがとうございます😊 戌年なのでカッコつけてます✨

I love 福袋! they have the best items sometimes! happy shopping!

me too! thank you so much @japanguide 😊

振る舞い酒いいなあ

とても太っ腹ですよね😊

うわー @kawaiipower さんのブログを読んでると、福袋の良さがビシバシ伝わってきますねw
私、初売りとか福袋とかにあまり興味がなかったのですが、いかなきゃって気持ちになりました!

サーティワンのはすごくお得なので是非来年は買って見てください😆

Cool!!! Happy New Year dear!!! <3 <3 <3

Awww happy new year to you too sweetheart :D

福袋お得で楽しいですね!( ・∀・)

ですよね!私も大好きです (´∨`)

#photography
I like what I see, especially like that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80