Introducing Japanese Traditional New Years Food OSECHI ~ HAPPY NEW YEAR STEEMIANS ~

in #culturevulture7 years ago (edited)

BeFunky Collage2.jpg

Happy New Year steemians!
I hope you did not have too much to drink to celebrate this special year 2018.
Today I would like to introduce you japanese traditional way to celebrate new year.
In Japan, celebrating for new year is the biggest holiday.
So many people who are not religious goes to temple and shrine to pray.
It is like Christmas in The U.S.A. People get together, eat festive food and some people goes to church.

For new year, we focus on food a lot, so today I will show you many pictures of the traditional food called OSECHI.
As a Japanese, I am proud to share my culture! I hope you like it!

This is called osechi, there are many different types for food in these little boxes.
You track them up and become one cube box, you separate them to display before you eat.
This is for 6 servings.
DSC01240.JPG

DSC01275.JPG

Each food food has meaning to eat them, for example, black beans are wishing for good health, seaweed is for happiness, eggs for goof income..etc
DSC01281.JPG

White and red color combinations are festive color in Japan, so we use this colors for our traditional wedding and ceremonies.
DSC01300.JPG

DSC01276.JPG

This chinese character is "kotobuki", it means congratulations & long life.
DSC01282.JPG

My mom makes this egg custard dish called CHAWANMUSHI every time we have festive occasion.
It has lily root on the bottom of the pudding.
It has very delicate sweet flavor which I really love.
BeFunky Collage3.jpg

This is called Kuchitori, made of bean paste and they are sweets.
thumbnail_IMG_2393.jpg

Just before turn to new year, we eat soba noodles.
It is called "TOSHIKOSHI SOBA".
This is one of our important tradition.
thumbnail_IMG_2346.jpg

We count for new year and sleep, then in the morning we make rice cakes from scratch.
My mother makes soup with some vegetibles and minced fish.
This is called "OZOUNI".
thumbnail_IMG_2349.jpg

Then we eat these sweet black beans and vegetable and meat mixed UMANI.
We have to prepare them a day or 2 days ahead of time so they can observe the flavors and we can eat them on right time :)
BeFunky Collage6.jpg

At night we got beautiful Oysters, my father's friend gave us for new year.
thumbnail_IMG_2464.jpg

We are what we eat, eating something festive and healthy for special occasion with family is so precious.
2018 is just started, yet I already have so many things to be thankful for.

My sister @saori and my corgi wore japanese traditional kimono dress for new year.
thumbnail_IMG_2414.jpg

This year's zodiac is dog!
I used this picture for my new years card :)
IMG_2148.JPG

皆さん明けましておめでとうございます⛩✨
今年もよろしくお願いします!
おせちを食べて、母がうま煮、鯨汁、茶碗蒸しを作って黒豆を炊いて、父がお餅をついて楽しいお正月を家族みんなで過ごしています
新年早々感謝することばかりで幸せな気持ちでいっぱいです( ´∀`)
今年は戌年なのでこのコロの写真を年賀状用に撮影しました✨
それでは楽しいお正月を過ごしてくださいね〜♬

Thank you so much for reading my vlog!
Do you have any question?
If you do, please feel free to ask me!

Be healthy & Live Happy ❤️

Thank you so much for reading my blog!
Don't forget o follow me and give me upvote ✨
I truly appreciate your support 😊
Have a wonderful day 🎈

Sort:  

That is one big gorgeous osechi set! I miss having osechi on new years!

Oh you had osechi before! Wonderful😊 Thank you so much for your complement ✨

@kawaiipowerさん、明けましておめでとうございます!
コロちゃんの年賀状バージョンかわいいですね^^
今年もお世話になりますがよろしくお願いいたします。

ありがとうございます 😊 今年はsteemfestに参加したいと思っているのでお会いできるの楽しみにしています✨

Happy new year to you too @kawaiipower !
The traditional food in Japan looks so colorful! Yummy.

thank you so much @folken! Happy new year to you too 😊
They were delicious 😋

I'm sure it was!

おせち、お料理、とても豪華ですね!@saoriさんも可愛い♡
いつも投稿楽しませて頂いてます。今年もよろしくお願いいたします^^

ありがとうございます!ultrasevenさんのようになれるよう頑張ります😊

あけましておめでとうございます。
今年も元気溢れるkawaiipower さんのブログ楽しみにしてます。
コロちゃん干支のお勤め頑張って〜゚.+:。 ヾ(。・ω・)ノ゚.+:。

@aitommylr さん明けましておめでとうございます✨ 去年はお世話になりました!私もaitommylr さんの丁寧で楽しいブログ楽しみにしていますね😊

Selamat tahun baru

Selamat tahun baru✨

Di tahun baru ini moga anda lebih senang

oh wow so colorful and festive , plus very yummy looking ! i love the different meanings and traditions of each food ! thanks for sharing your great photos and customs with us ! upped and resteemed to share with my followers in my @momskitchen blog ! Mmmmmm!😋😋😋😋

happy new year to you @momskitchen🥂 awww thank you so much! l am so grateful😊

OMG looks so yummy! Japan's food is always colorful and neat!
Happy "dog" year!^^

hahaha thank you @cagecorn 😊 they are yummy !
happy dog year✨

Look amazing the food, happy new year!

thank you so much✨happy new year to you too @seikatsumkt 😊

明けましておめでとうございます。すごく豪華なお料理うらやましいです。今年もクオリティ高い投稿たのしみにしています。

@argon さんにそう言ってもらえるととても嬉しいです, ランニングブログ続けてくださいね!応援してます✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94