Culturevulture ~ Manti are a traditional dish of Central Asian ~ Step-by-step recipe.

in #culturevulture7 years ago (edited)


Manti is a meat dish which is known in different countries. It's minced meat with spices and onions, wrapped in thin dough and steamed. This is a dish common in Korea, and Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China, Uzbekistan. In Russia, too, really love manti. The more it resembles a traditional Russian dish - pelmeni with meat.

The birthplace of this delicious dish is considered to be China. According to history, Manty began to cook in the Han dynasty. Manti were invented as a replacement for human sacrifices to the spirits of the fallen soldiers. Translated literally manti was called as the "head of Manz".




So, to prepare the dough for manti, we need:

  • flour 500g

  • water 200ml

  • vegetable oil 15 ml

  • 2 eggs.



For the dough, I mix the flour with the eggs. Add the water and vegetable oil. Then I kneaded the dough by hand. In the end, I get a dense and thick batter.



The dough is ready. And now I begin to prepare the stuffing from meat. I used for the stuffing 2 kinds of meat: pork and beef. I add in the mince, finely chopped onion, salt, pepper. And I added to the minced egg. If the meat for cooking meat was not enough fat, you can add a small piece of pork fat. This will make the meat juicier.





The filling for the manti is ready. Next, I rolled the dough into a thin layer. From this dough I cut out circles with a diameter of about 10 cm In each circle I put a little meat filling. Now the most difficult. You need to carefully wrap the edges of the dough. For this, I gather the edges of the dough upward, like a pouch. And I turn the edge clockwise. Then I cook the manti for a couple for 1 hour. This can be done in a double boiler or a slow cooker. And there is also a special pan for cooking manti - it is mantignana. But I don't have it. So I was cooking with a slow cooker.





I serve the manti with sour cream and cucumber. But you can use different sauces. Manti go well with tomato sauce, with butter, with soy sauce, and chili pepper. Also, the manta rays will complement fresh vegetables - cucumbers, tomatoes, sweet pepper. It's a matter of taste and preferences. But in and of themselves manti is a delicious and flavorful dish.



Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you found it interesting to read about manta. This post is for contest #culturevulture organized @eroche.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74