Boolean Rorschach Tests...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #culture6 years ago

I have been meaning to post something about this for some time now, perhaps it was the Kavanaugh hearing playing over my car radio that served as the catalyst. It seems to me that our world is becoming increasingly polarized, and divisive. I have only been on this earth for 27 spins now, but I personally can't remember a time when cultural tensions have been so prevalent.

I am not here to discuss politics (for a multitude of reasons), I think the problem is rooted much deeper. I have recognized a trend; real issues are debased, and reduced to simple "Boolean Rorschach Tests". Not every problem is black/white, red/blue, true/false... However, these inflammatory arguments are precisely what get you followers. Why peer into the grey area when it is easier to pretend the world is binary?

This thought process is a slippery slope, and one I hope we, as an engaged, diverse community, can at least begin to mend. So anyway, thoughts?

What are some of the reasons people (in general) have become more polarized?
How can we encourage & promote the critical thinkers whose voice is so often squelched?

Look forward to hearing from my fellow Steemers!

Sort:  

People are scared of whatever the real truth might be, so they grab on to some thing or idea they feel comfortable with. They then promote this thing or idea until it is proven to be false beyond a shadow of a doubt...then they move on to the next thing and the cycle continues

Well put, I do think much of the tension comes from an intrinsic xenophobia that many people may harbor. While technology such as the internet has aided in exposure to foreign cultures, new ideas, etc., it has also provided a platform where (up until now), shock value, whether truthful or proven, draws the attention of media consumers.

I only hope that the blockchain, and similar ideals will thrive enough to provide all individuals (especially the disenfranchised) with true, sincere economic/idealistic representation. We are on the right track toward a more connected world, we just have to be vocal enough to cut through the static.

You're right and it will be interesting to watch

I can't wait for the next couple decades of tech. We haven't had an "earth-shattering" invention in some time, I think we're just about overdue. Gaming is going to be so awesome! Ready Player One? 😅

Haha! I remember playing Super Tecmo Bowl as a kid thinking it was the greatest game ever invented. It's gone further than I could have ever imagined!

Haha, wow that's a throwback. Reminds me of the good ol' NFL Blitz days. Here's to Red Dead Redmemption 2, so stoked!

hey Mr. mantishands, how are you today?

Hello there YK :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55