The worst thing you can do in Steemit...

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

Which surprisingly may be worse than plagiarism at least in my eyes, is begging for votes and follows, for other users to interact with you.

This is not going to work, you are not only wasting your time but wasting other people's time.

Great post! Follow me and I follow you

Those won't work either!

Build an audience by creating good content! You get people to comment on your stuff when you make relevant comments on their posts. You get generosity when you are generous yourself! We don't just take and take, we must give to receive.

Going from post to post commenting "Nice!" or "Good post!" is not going to get you anything beneficial because people can tell exactly what you are doing.

Have some dignity!

The probability is that you joined Steemit looking to make money, I'm not criticizing that because I know everyone needs to eat. But isn't better to earn than trick your way into profit?

What do you think happens when you tell someone that they did a good job and when they check your profile they see you've left the exact same message to 50 people before and all in the same day?

At least with plagiarism I have a chance of seeing interesting content even if stolen...

Sort:  

Meme game is strong with this one.

Epic

This has been happening to me here and in Chat. They actually DM me for votes. One person went so far as to comment that they would upvote a post of mine if I go and upvote them first! Lol, WTH?!

When I don't just ignore them entirely, they get something like, "Sweetie, don't beg for votes and follows. Just keep coming up with good content and connect with folks here by making meaningful comments. Your following will grow, and the Steemit community will be enriched by your presence here!"

That's the best I can manage. I don't want to come off as snappy, but it's hard sometimes.

Yeah, that's why I never went into any of the chats, I figured they'd be filled with these people.
It's hard, very, it takes a lot from me not use that flag button and show them what happens to spammers.

I've been able to connect with some cool people on chat, but, yeah, it's also filled with beggars. I can't blame you giving it a pass.

Couldn't agree more, once or twice I have been tempted to go for the begging option and ask for a door or a resteem, but it is true I only want someone to vote for me if they are interested in my posts, not because I begged.

Yeah don't like the begging thing you said it dignity. Cheers mike

blueminnowtommycordero

Agreed as soon as I see "Great Post follow me I follow back" a piece of me dies haha.

Upvoted and resteemed. I am curious if you, or anybody in here, have an opinion on people using this site to raise money for a friend or relative in need?

Plenty of people raise money, that's what we are doing when we post. But yeah, I've seen people try to raise money for animal shelters or friends in need, stuff like hospital bills. You just gotta know how to do it, be smart about it, because everyone here is asking for money so why should you get it?

Don't get me wrong, i am not one to solicite money. When I say your post title i was thinking that this is what you were going to be talking about. I have been upvoting a couple of those solicitors and thus helping them out. But, I was wondering if you or anyone here had an opinion. Perhaps you may be annoyed or feel that it is an improper use of the steemit platform

You can ask for whatever you want, whatever you need. My issue is with people jumping on other people's posts to profit from exposure with irrelevant content. It makes no sense to ask for votes because when you publish you are already asking for votes unless you decline payment.

Everyone here is already asking for money, everyone wants followers and comments and votes. Asking on top of asking in unnecessary and it can get annoying pretty quickly.

I agree, if someone wants to follow me then great, but at least if i post and keep posting good stuff people will follow me wanting to write what i read and i get a consistent upvote because people keep coming back time and time again to read my posts.

Everybody should read this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74