Venezuela: a Country in a Strange War

in #culture6 years ago

The situation in my Venezuela, from my point of view.

I am a 14 year old teenage girl from Venezuela. I grew up with my mother and my sister and my grandmother who took care of us kids most of the time. I have seen the quality of life deteriorate little by little. There are things about this situation that I do not understand, but I listen to my mother talking and the panorama is frightening.

The economic situation is more precarious every day. Money has less value each day and it’s difficult to get food. l see people wandering around on the streets with cadaverous faces looking for food, basic necessities etc. The police inspire more fear than any sinister character you could imagine. Every time the president (nobody calls him by that title) speaks, he delivers news of continuously worse decisions.

There are things that are complex and I do not understand much, but what I do understand is hunger and despair. The despair, the crying and the resignation of my neighbor, a 73 year old man who is alone, malnourished and abandoned by his children who have already immigrated.

I myself am thinner and my mother looks more wrinkled from the loss of weight. But there is another part of the city that looks more luxurious every day. People with good weight who can buy all the expensive food they want, whatever the price.

We are not at war with anyone exterior, but rather with ourselves. I see people selling food, clothing, and even cash at stratospheric prices. It’s impressive how we have an ability to destroy ourselves. We now living in a day to day survival of the fittest while the country goes to hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48