Why do we buy new clothes for Chinese New Year?

in #culture6 years ago

Today, I went out with my mother for some last-minute Chinese New Year shopping. Chinese New Year is the only time of the year where I try and buy new clothes. Most of the time, unless there is an explicit need, I never set foot in a clothing store. When I say explicit need, I mean it. I would only go to a clothes shop only if there was a gaping hole in my clothes that can’t be fixed by a few stitches.

However, due to Chinese New Year shopping being a tradition, I am effectively forced to buy new clothes. Isn’t that a real #firstworldproblem? (Although technically, I’d still argue that Malaysia is a third-world country due to our economic and political climate. The actual meaning for first-world etc. is another story for another time)

So, because of this tradition, I decided to look up the ‘Why’ of it all. Thus, the blog entry for today will be the answer to, “Why do we have to buy new clothes for Chinese New Year?”

My personal thought on the matter was this. I think that this trend began because of a few entrepreneurial silk traders in China. They probably decided that the festive period would make for a great marketing campaign.

According to China Highlights, there are quite a few reasons behind this cultural phenomenon.

Firstly, wearing new clothes on the Chinese New Year symbolises a fresh start to the New Year. This is somewhat understandable. Clean and fresh clothes could hold a lot of meaning as symbols to suggest that the coming year will be as fresh as your threads. Also, dressing well as the New Year begins also suggests a good tone for the coming year.
Then, the reason for the colour red being treated as an auspicious colour is as follows. No, it is not because of the communism thing. (Just kidding) Red corresponds to fire and is a symbol of wealth and prosperity. It is also depicted as a colour for happiness. That is why it is forbidden to wear red to Chinese funerals.

Wow, can’t believe I ended an article about festive celebrations with talks about funerals. Um... How about this. Here is a joke about the Chinese New Year!


How does a French person celebrate the year of the dog?

Happy Chien-ese New Year. Hon hon hon!


Feel free to tell me about your Chinese New Year traditions in the comments below!

Image Sources:
1, 2

Sort:  

My gf is Chinese but her family is less strict abt clothes. Not even abt the colors. More important is food and beer and togetherness in the spirit of festivity :)

Lucky for me so i can spend less on clothes. Third world economy indeed :)

Haha yeah, the food and togetherness is more important! Not sure about beer la. I am more of a wine kinda guy.

Wine will do too haha

Congratulations @tadstrange, your post has been been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post.

What does this mean for you? Well first an up vote from the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34