No Wifi, No electricity, No problem - Life In The Village

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Happy Sunday! It was 5am in the morning, when I heard a loud bang from my room, the light bulbs were on and off. I got up and looked outside. It was dark. One of the electric pole exploded. I searched for a torch just in case If I needed it and then I went back to bed. But I was thinking..how could I cook without electricity? This might take them long to repair it, maybe half day. I can live without showering for one day but the food? breakfast, lunch and dinner? I can't do much, we might end up eating cold porridge and drink cold coffee lols.

I closed my eyes and tried to get some more sleep. It was still early. When I got up before 8:00am the power came back. I felt relief. Haaissst atlast!! Without power, electricity we are kinda disabled. Everything nowadays is with wifi, gadgets, fast internet transactions but without connection and electricity you got stuck!!

Can we live without electricity? Do you wish someday that there's no wifi and everything is disconnected like it never exist at all? I experienced them all. Going back to my childhood, I grew up in my grandma's village. We got no electricity in the whole village. My aunt and uncles would use "tukarol" It's a lamp with thread and gas inside. I even know how to do it. Sometimes you can use oil. Do you still remember the petromax? It's a metal lantern that you pump and you have the light for the whole night. Those were the days.....

How about cooking? My grandma had dirty kitchen, we didn't have those electric stove or gas stove before. All you need is woods and dried coconut. On this photo was a very old kitchen of my grandma. When I visited PH few years back, my mom, my brothers, my cousins, aunts and uncles stopped by at my grandparents house (abandoned house) to check what was left in there. My uncle comes there to take care of some animals but not to sleep because it was all damaged. The kitchen was still there, and the "Tungko" it's like a stove where you can cook, usually it is made from hollow blocks or stones, where you could place the pans and casseroles for cooking. It needs to be balanced so the pan won't spill over.

It was just a short visit but we ended up finding all kind of cooking stuff and my brother started to harvest some papaya and vegetables around and my uncle ran quick in the other house to get some noodles, rice and dried fish. All our food was from scratch. We found some old plates, pans and they started to cook. My other brother prepared banana leaves to put our food. It was like a family mini reunion lols. My son and nieces and nephew got sleepy and we used the " kareta " (Sledge) It's a whelled vehicle carried by carabao. This became a luxury bed for them.

Papaya tree

Kudkuran (use for grinding coconut- for coconut milk/ Luxury bed

My grandma's 40 years old table. We found it outside.

Booddle fight! Our favorite buffet style ( no fork or spoon, use your hands hahaha)

My cousins and I love this place so much, it gave so much memories about our childhood. We always come back to Nanay and Mamay's house, where grandma and grandpa used to live. The next morning, we went back again and showered in the spring water there. I was so surprised that it was still there. The water was cold like ice . It's drinkable too. We also washed our clothes like we used to do as children. There was a fish pond, with water lilies and vegetable called "Gabi"/ Colocasia esculenta.

"Salulo" Spring water

Water is free!!!

Before it got dark, we all went home. It was nice remembering old memories from the past which is a big part of my life, 2 years ago we went back to my grandma's village and harvested many fruits. My brother just told me that one of my uncles chose to retire there. He is now busy renovating the house of my grandma and someday we are planning to have a family reunion.

To make my story short. In this modern world, we forgot how lucky we are to have those advanced technologies. Of course there's a lot of advantages and disadvantages of it. We tend to panick when things don't work out right away. And when you don't have it all, you appreciate every single thing that you have.

If you could chose, would you live in a place with no wifi and electricity? Can you live without it? Where did you grow up?

All photos are mine. (FB act.)

Have a lovely day everyone.

Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven't vote your witness yet, vote Terry now!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Yours truly,
The village girl @sunnylife in the Steemian Forest

Sort:  

I miss bisiting and having my vacation in my cousins province...during childhood, washing clothes along the river, catching dragonflies in the farm, and playing hide and sick are more than enough to be happy and have fun...simple life but full of joy!

hehe ginawa mo den pala yon sis:)
naku lahat yan naranasan ko hehe
Thnx sa dalaw.

Hehehe... yes po dami happy and funny experiences during childhood...

I really love the way you integrate steemit with your life....i wish i could do close to the same..lol

hey amec is here, miss u bro.
you can also do it hehehe
loveyeah my broda

We used to have the same backyard and dirty kitchen as well back then! But It's already renovated now. I can still remember how my grandma cooks turon on their dirty kitchen and sells it in front of the house. Old times.

probinsya is life d ba?
kaka miss lang tlga huh!

Yup! May payapa din and to be honest parang mas namamaximize time sa probinsya because wala masyadong traffic unlike sa city.

Sarap magreminisce sis,, i remember we had that tukarol thing too but until now since we're here in the province Nagluluto ako sa stove using coal heheheh

tukarol den gamit namin sis.
wala kuryente, mas tipid ang charcoal sis.
saka mas mabilis magluto:)

Ay namiss ko bigla ang probinsya namin sis hehe.. Masaya naman ang buhay noon kahit walang WiFi.. Ngayon naman, mawalan lng ng WiFi laking problema na hehe

hahaha grabee totoo yan, mawalan ng wifi stress na agad haha
thanks sis.

Maybe you'll say I'm nuts, but people connect easier and they're happier when there's no electricity and every modern tech. That's the fact. We become more creative and happier because in some way tech=stress and although there are a lot of communities that "connects" people, live communication and spending time with people is priceless.
Have a nice day - @tonac :D

Honestly having no WiFi for a bit would probably be a relaxing change!

agree with you.
less stress:)

envy you. doing no wifi no internet sometimes is so important for modern people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78