You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ๐Ÿ‘‘ ๐Ÿ‘‘ ๐Ÿ‘‘The Most Successful Political Ideology in the World๐Ÿ‘‘ ๐Ÿ‘‘ ๐Ÿ‘‘

in #culture โ€ข 7 years ago

Brings to mind two thoughts, which sound on the surface like they contradict each other (they don't)

  • "Great Man" theory - rarely, a man (and even more rarely a woman) enters the world and has both a vision and the leadership to see that vision come to reality through the force of personality. Unless that vision includes a method for sustaining the vision, the "Great Man"s death ends the vision. In Cromwell's case, his body was dug up and mutilated IIRC.
  • A government reflects the morality of it's people. The English are a relatively moral people, and have been for a long time. They also have a political-moral vision which denies absolute power, so when the monarchy became too much of a pain in the ass, or when a monarch asserted power in an "immoral" manner (Catholic Mary), the English would revolt

and a third thought follwing from the second:

  • any government (including communism) will be good, so as long as the people it represents AND the people in it are good:this last thought is purely hypothetical, IMO ;>
Sort: ย 

I call them oxymoronic beliefs and I love them! Here is another of my faves Intelligently designed to Evolve(by our bacterial overlords[mitochondria] so they can have the newest model of RV)

I enjoyed a recent doc I watched in which they laid out the argument for the stomach as a second brain, guided by our bacterial gut-masters!

decentralized centralization FTW!

The truth is coming out!๐Ÿ˜

I just hope that as long as I keep offering them tribute in the form of cheeseburgers and pie that they wont command me to do anything too bad!

;>

Appeasement is the only way ;)

On your last point, the problem with bad systems is that they convince people that goodness comes from necessary evils. Bloody Mary thought she was saving England from hell! And Catholics are great people who have fed me more than any stingy englishman ever has. After watching the vice documentary about Celtic vs Ranger rivalry I came to the conclusion that although I sided with the Rangers fans loyalties but the Celtic party looked way more fun.

I like the perspective that government is a "dangerous tool" far more than I do that government is a "necessary evil"

Thats a great perspective I often tell my children that their emotions are just tools great when they help you, best to set aside when it gets in your way. I feel the same way with logic( because you can convince yourself of anything if you work at it)

exactly; sometimes you have to forget a fact or two when you really want to go down a certain path, and our brains really allow us to do that

Good point, great leaders make themselves dispensable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57