Turkish Traditional Alcoholic Beverage "Raki"

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

EVERYTHING ABOUT DRINK OF THE LIONS RAKİ

Today I want to introduce you my countrys favourite Alcoholic beverage called Raki. In Turkey there is an entire culture about this beverage . How to drink it ? In which occasions it is best to drink it ? . Ah of course you need to drink it with some snacks called Meze.

What is Raki ?

Raki is an alcoholic drink manufactured by distillation method, usually flavored with anise seed. In the last period of the Ottoman Empire, the non-Muslims in Rumelia began to produce Raki and eventually it became a popular drink in Anatolia. When it comes to the 19th century, it iwas a popular drink in the taverns run by non-Muslims. In Ottoman Empire
Raki lovers called as Arak-nush.

Why Raki Called Lions Milk in my City ?

I live in İzmir , Turkey and in my city people call Raki as Lions Milk. I really wondered why people call like this. Back in the days there were a popular tavern in Izmir runned by "Anastapoulos” family. Their family crest symbol was a Lion like Lannisters therefore in my City people call raki Lions Milk.

A Story About Atatürk , Raki and İzmir

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was the Founder of Republic of Turkey. He got tons of story about Raki , but this one is related to my city İzmir.

In 1923 in Izmir , Kordon, while having a sunset raki in 'Naim Palas' , He calls the waiter:
Atatürk : Hey Dimitri, come look my child.
Dimiti : Yes , My Pasha
Atatürk :The Greek king who came to Izmir during the occupation, referring to King Constantine, said, 'Did your Kosti come here?'
Dimiti : Yes he came.
Atatürk : Did he sit in this table?
Dimitri : Yes
Atatürk : Did he drink Raki ?
Dimitri : No my pasha
Atatürk : Didn't you ask him , Why the fuck he invaded İzmir if he is not going to drink Raki ?

Raki in other Countries

Come on Guys !. We all know that Turkish Raki is the best but I felt like I'm obligated to show you the Raki in other countries too.

  • In Bulgaria, hard and effective fruit Raki is yellowish and is usually made of plum and grape. Raki is known by these names in Bulgaria : Mastika, Targovitsche and Pechterska

  • In Greece it is called as Uzo which is produced from fresh grapes.

  • In France, Spain and Portugal, the common name for this drink is Anis or Pastis

  • in Italy, it is Sambuca and it is Flaton in Slavic countries.

How to Drink Raki ?

raki raki.png

You just need to decide how much you put in to the Glass. I listed you some of the popular amount and the name given for thoose. Then you put some ice in it and pour some water or If you are manly enough you drink it neat I don't reccomend it though. Ah also you need to order lots of Meze to eat up while you are drinking.

Popular Meze's for Raki Drinking

  • Walnut Eggplant Salad,
  • Shepherd salad,
  • Bean Piyasi,
  • Yoghurt Schnitzel Salad,
  • Eggplant Salad with Yoghurt,
  • Piccalilli,
  • Cabbage with Olive Oil,
  • Bakla Fava,
  • Hibesh, Tarator,
  • Tzatski
  • Albanian Liver
  • Hummus
  • Cauliflower Pane,
  • The stewed garlic, Tomato,
  • Potato Meat,
  • Squid Kalamari

How to Produce Raki ?

I really don't reccomend you guys to produce your own Raki at home Just buy it but , Lets fucking go to the Dark Side

• Grapes (dry or wet)

• Fermentation process

•First Distillation, water + Suma (80% ethyl alcohol)

  • Anisum addition (2nd distillation)

• Head-core-spring separation

• Sugar addition

• Extinguishing (45-50 'grade)

• Ventilation-ripening

• Relaxation (It needs to wait 1 month )

• Bottling

•Labeling

Ok Guys if you manage to come at the end of article. I entitle you Raki Master now you can come Turkey and you won't look like a complete tourist ! Nobody will able to rip you off now !.

Thanks for Reading & See you Soon
Sort:  

Nice post on Raki. During my career I have lived in several cities in Turkey, I am well familiar with Raki and its drinking rituals. It was very informative for me in regards to the history and production process. Having travelled all over I have tried similar concoctions such as Sambuca, Pernod, and Ouzo. Raki is definintely the best of them. Thank you.

With the Anise in there, does it have a taste of licorice? What would you say the taste is similar to? What a GREAT post!! I have never heard of this drink before :) SUNSHINE247

Well sadly it is not licorish it got a really distinguish taste I can't even describe you. But it is really strong you will either love it or hate it.

I may have to try this one day - wondering if I mention this to my favorite bartender if he will know what I am talking about - worth a try :) SUNSHINE247

Raki is really popular alcohol in Turkey. It is mostly consumed by Thrace provinces. You can't drink it anytime, I mean it's not an alcohol like consumused on clubs. I prefer to drink it with my best friends who has somethings to tell each other. And sometimes you must take break to drink tea for like 30 minutes, Most of people don't know this tea break but trust me. You should try it. Thanks for this awesome post!

They have Raki at a bar in Brooklyn I played some shows at a few years ago, called Muchmore's. It's off of the Lorimer L stop for anybody who wants to go find it.

It's tasty, I like it.

Very interesting! I will go hunting for Raki in shops around BKK. Poor cat! He's got drunk on Raki. As a kid, I poured beer into a bowl for my dog, later he couldn't walk straight and was doing funny walk and fell asleep. Then, I knew beer was really alcohol.
Cheers.

nice post,

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Steeminator3000 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58