Why Does People Attach the Coins on Buddha Statue

in #culture7 years ago

2107

20171005_162615.jpg

On my way to the main building of the temple, Soo Deok Sa, I saw a family attach the coins on Buddha statue.

20171005_161854.jpg

It seemed that Korean people loved to use coins for purpose of praying for fortune and luck to Buddha.

You could see this kinds of statue in many cases. In the temple of Soo Deok Sa, there were many places people put the coins on the statue and threw the coin into the water.

20171005_160835.jpg

20171005_160840.jpg

A woman was attaching the coins even on the steep wall like that.
It took several minutes to put the coins on steep wall

20171005_154029.jpg

20171005_153846.jpg

I heard people talked each other the ability to attach the coins on the steep wall was the sign of sincere faith to Buddha.

It made me laughing. It was far from Buddhism, it was superstitious and deeply related to the Shamanism.

There is my friend who is devout christian. When I met him, I told what I had seen in the temple.

He explained that koeans' religious background was deeply related with the shamanism.
Eventhough there are Buddhism, Protestant and Catholic in Korea, there are no religious conflict in Korea. The reason no conflict among religions was that basic tendency of religion in Korean people was the Shamanism.

You could find the shamans and fortune tellers easily anyplace in Korea.

I think my friend's explanation had a sense.

How about your place.
Do you have similar attitude or custom like korea ?

Sort:  

@slowwalker It looks really a wonderful statue. that people go there for praying.
Dont other people steal the coins attached with this statue?

I think Priests of that temple took the coins who works there..correct me If I am wrong..

Very nice! Thanks, where would I yet have seen!

Thank you for an interesting post on the customs of the religious people of Korea. I think most customs and religious practices seem strange outside of ones own culture. The differences is what make culture unique and fun (as long as no one gets hurt).

wow...so nice....thanks for shearing

thank you for visiting

Hope this brings you luck as well. Good luck

thank you so much bro

Excellent photography @slowwalker.Thanks for sharing this post.i like and uovoted.

thank you for your compliment

The coins are attached with buddha statue to serve poor people.

haha. exactly

It is something wrong people may call it belief, but it give courage to many, who wish to achieve something. So it's great 👌

you are right

Hiiiii....That's very wonderful statue @slowwalker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51