Which One Do You Prefer Between the Old and the New

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

20171101

I have travelled many places in korea to look around the temples in this year.
While traveling, I saw that many things were changing.
New temples have been building in many places.
The repairs of the temple have been undergoing in the old temples.
In many cases the new things are better than the old things.

But in some cases, the old things are better than the new ones.

There were the monuments of late monks around the entrance of the temple.
Actually these monuments were kinds of tombs of the monks.

When monk was dead, the body was cremated.
In my guess, the cremation in Buddhism could be originated from Hinduism.

After death, the baby should be burned and ashes must be scattered in the universe to be reincarnated again.
In Buddhism as like Hinduism, this life is only a moment in the continuation of the transmigration.

I had been deeply impressed when I saw the monuments.
In many cases, there were not written the names of it’s own.

If our life was only a moment of endless continuation of the transmigration(samsara), there was no reason to left my name on the epitaph.

In Soo Doek Sa temple where is one of the oldest temple in Korea, I could not find the old monuments around the entrance.

20171005_150231.jpg

20171005_150253.jpg

What I saw in Soo Deok Sa was the new monuments, strangely enough these new monuments didn’t make my mind feel something special.

The style of the monuments was very precise and well made , but that was not so touching.
It was something strange why there were no old monuments in this temple.

Let’s look at the old monuments.

IMG_5472.JPG

IMG_6493.JPG

Sort:  

I prefer the old monuments, as they got amazing architecture.

right.
Thank you for your comment

An interesting question, @slowwalker.

If one sees the past as simply history, an exact reproduction of a monument will suffice.

But if one sees these tombs and monuments as sacred places, then there is a duty to be performed in order to respect the dead.

Places are made sacred through reverence and memory and when one generation passes, the responsibility falls to the next.

So, to answer your question, in the matter of monuments and tombs we must respect the old and preserve them

The old and new can go together hand in hand. We have a responsibility to remember our past but also to look forward..

I like your post. I am a european living in Mongolia and I see this contrasts here too. The contrast between old and new. I got lots of respect to the old hand crafted things. In the new things, even if they are more beautiful, there is sometimes something less. Sorri for my english ;) To your question: I prefer the old but the first image with the turtle is amazing. Greetings from Mongolia, Silbart.

thank you for your comment.
Your english is easier for me to understand, because the root between korean and mongolian is same.
nice to meet you here in Steemit

Thanx a lot for your upvote ;) it was the biggest I ever received. But I have to disappoint you..I'm not a Mongolian I am a German guy living in Mongolia. So my Mongolian language is not the best yet. But I'm focused on it. The only things I know about your country is the amazing food which I love and the Korean TV soaps on almost all Mongolian TV Channels which I don't like hehe. Here are a lot of very old things to discover too. I enjoy it here absolute. One day I will discover Korea. Thank you and have a good night little further east ;)

Lol
Sorry to you
I didn't mean to change your nationality

Hehe funny, no problem ;) have a nice day!

hi friends , im from iran and try to share history like you . nice to meet asians in this site. upvoted and folowed you if you have time com to my blog and see my blog.

I pick the picture number two, it look so beautiful and full of art. Thanks @slowwalker

That one kinda looks like a dragon turtle mash up.

When I heard your explanation, I take conclusion that old temple is better than new temple. A great post @slowwalker.

단순한것이 더 아름답네요.^^

단순한 것을 위대하게 만들기는 어려운 것 같습니다.

great post :)

the new ones are good but the old ones can help people remember the things they cared , loved and kept . they have the unique value in people's life . they are our treasure !

you are right.
I agree with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47