What I Encountered in the City.

in #culture7 years ago

Daejeon is one of the largest city in Korea.
There is a large mountain, the name of Bo Moon San in the city.
When I got up early, a strange desire came to my mind. “I need to go Bo Moon San” mountain. Literally “San” means mountain. Anyway it was afternoon, when I arrived near the mountain.

People were crowded, so I lost my desire to the mountain. At that time ruined Cable Station came in my eyes.

It was a kind of shock to me. I didn’t expect to see the Cable Car in the city. Maybe that’s the reason why the station was abandoned.

I took more shots.

“The place where you memories stay” written in Korean.

It looked like that more than 20 years had passed away after the station was abandoned.

The Cable car station will be removed in near time.
But memories will be survived.

Turning around the station, I entered into the alley. Quiet old alley. It must be the poors’ alley.
People are still living there.

I had lived in much more worse alley in my childhood. But I was happy at that time. There were my friends to play soccer in narrow alley with tennis ball. We were laughing and chattering in the alley.

We were happy even though I was poor.
We were happy, because I had many friends.

Now I am in the much more better situation.
But It is hard to say I am happy now.

Why?

You already know my answer.

Sort:  

Almost like an epic film set!

Would be interesting to have some movie tracks of those places.

Thank you so much

Childhood is the best time ever. Fully free, nothing to care and full of life. Playing with friends brings us closer and makes us more kind. So hard to see abandoned places. Hopefully, it will improve with time.

I wish it would be like you said

Great Pictures! That cable car is unbelievable... @slowwalker the best times in life isn't with money, it is the memories we make with family and friends.

You are right

I see a theme in your posts, @slowwalker. You are a great observer and you are drawn to the past, to traditions and people's living memories.

As you visit places around you, you relate what you see to your life and it makes you grateful for what you have. For example, the old lady in the traditional house reminded you of your mother - so you went and called her.

The poverty in these alleys reminds you of your childhood - you're grateful now for what you have, but you recall the happy times of your youth with your friends.

What is common in all these posts is the joy you take from people - the relationships, the memories.

A very wistful, nostalgic post, my friend :)

Thank you for your comment

How inciteful of you @johnjgeddess. This really made my day reading your comment about @slowwalker... I love all the connections people make through Steemit. What a wonderful community. :)

thank you, Karen - I really appreciate @slowwalker and his keen observations of life around him in Korea, and I appreciate your encouragement. Thank you!

Yes it really is beautiful! :)

Just imagine the number of people who traveled in that Cable Car, so many memories going through the air and locked inside their doors. So much laughter, crying, anger and little children saying "look down!, i can see my home from here!", A great piece of history that now hangs rusty waiting to be removed. It makes me a little sad... Great post!

Thank you for your comment
Your explanation is much better than mine

When we do not have the money, we make every effort to earn money to feed our family and provide a future for them. But we spend on this precious time that we could spend with our loved ones. But we are forced to do this, so we regret it later. But should this be done? Everyone has his own circumstances. I feel a little sums for the past, but I have to work for my family.

Right. That's our destiny

most of the people who didn'y live happy childhood becomes happier when they grow up
I hope you enjoyed your round

Hard storry to read.
I Was in Okpo and Seoul in 2011 1 month.
It was hard for me as an Norwegian to see all the old peaple collecting bottles of plastic to make a living.

Then i really see how good i actualy have it here.
But the most important thing i learn from my tripp there over, are that human are more valuable than annything else.

I am glad to read that you do it well and are happy now... Wish you all the best, and i gonna follow Your post, since i realy like Korea.
Cheers

Nice to meet you and thank you for your comment

Same to you :-)

Now I know what mountain is in korea "San." Thanks for new found word. Hope you share more korean words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83