Unexpected Magnificent Beauty in Mt.Geyryong

in #culture7 years ago

20170904 slowwalker

I know there are unexpected things in our life. The surprise is getting bigger when we meet unexpected thing in unexpected place. I did experience that on the way down from the mountain. Mom and I went down with happy. In the middle of the way, I saw very old coloured temple. It was not close to identify the letters written in the board. I was so curious why that temple did not paint colors. Couldn’t they afford money to paint colors. Usually common temples were painted in the base of red, blue and green colours. But I couldn’t see any red, blue and green colours.

And It was time to rest for my mom. She had walked too much that day. So while my mom had been resting by the road, I tried to look around that strangely old looking temple. I felt so sorry on that they could not pay for the painting.
But, as getting closer, something different magnificent scene came into my eyes.

The colour of this temple was not old, on the contrary, the temple seemed to have been built not for long time ago.
The roof clay was new. At the top of the roof, there were the heads of the dragons.

Next to the main building, another house was under the construction.

Closer to the temple, Bigger the astonishment.
The color was not old, the color was new. It was gold color. It was the first time for me that the temple was painted with gold color.

On the ground, the things making me feel good were waiting for me. It was a humble spring. Water was poured out through a humble bamboo pipe to a stone bowl. This scene made me peaceful. The sound of dripping water was like a music which was touching my soul. I stood there for several minutes with listening a water sound.

Next to the spring, there was a stone sculpture. It was not special Buddha sculpture. But it gave me a some kinds of a inspiration. What is the essence of the existence. It was accumulated sculpture with stone plates. It is difficult to identify what it look like. But I know that is a Buddha sculpture. The essence of teaching by Buddha is that everything is changing. There is nothing unchanged. So if I think it a Buddha seeing not looked Buddha, then the sculpture is a real masterpiece. This sculpture might’ve contained real character of Buddha.

In the other corner of the ground, there was a pagoda. It was 5 story pagoda. At first glance, you could recognize it is a old stuff. But it looked nothing special. Strange thing is the pagoda was built not at the center but at the corner of the temple. I was curious what the location of the pagoda mean ? I questioned and answered by myself. Maybe in my opinion, nothing has it’s designated location. If a pogoda is important, it is because of not it’s location but a meaning of tower itself. So a location of the pagoda has no importance.

We can find the most important thing in our mind.
History has secret. There is no secret, then that is not history.
Next time, I will post the secret of this temple concealed in history.
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

I dont have words to describe. Just WOW! The bamboo tap is magnificent. Amazing place to visit

I'm glad with you, friend @slowwalker! You had an incredible journey with your mom! This is a real present to meet this temple on your way! Have a nice day!

the sense of wonder you experienced, @slowwalker, came about through discovering something unexpected that fascinated you and turned a prosaic walk into something memorable and extraordinary.

Tiny surprises can transform an ordinary day into something extraordinary.

You discovered a mysterious temple with dragon heads on the roofs and mysteries hidden on its grounds.

You stopped to rest and found an adventure. What was the significance of the five story pagoda in such an unusual location, or the stone plate sculpture of Buddha with his face obscured?

The water feature added to the ambiance of the place - such a peaceful retreat just off the beaten path. There is something about the sound of trickling water that is comforting, that refreshes our spirit and focusses our attention back on the elemental universe of water and rock.

This was an unexpected moment of joy that awakened your sense of wonder. Such experiences are meant to be treasured.

Wow what a beauty indeed. I love the designs in traditional Korean houses (Chinese too) and always welcome your posts as one of your real followers...thanks for sharing with us.
In addition, I was wondering if you would see my latest posts on steem being undervalued and send in your thoughts? your constructive suggestions always add value-I wish you success.

Great story for great temple @slowwalker. I love your photograph, 100% natural! 👍🏻

Great post about the beauty of the temple. I'd like to go there. That's great :-) Thank you for this information.

Really wonderful surprise what a wonderful day
I love this position very much
This Post contains a lot of emotions

every time I check your post, I very interesting my friend
upvote and resteem

The house is very artistic...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69