The Portal of Donghaksa Buddhist Temple

in #culture7 years ago

20170828

It was about more than one and half mlie walking distance to get to the temple.
It was a long distance for my mom. She is 84 years old. But my mom was not tired, so we could enjoy walking to the temple.

The preparing and process for a travel must've been reminded more in our minds than the goal and the destination in many cases.
In this trip, we had enjoyed the road to the temple.

Thirty minutes after walking, there was a red wooden tree gate. Usually this kind of gate belongs to Confucian Shrine. It was some thing strange to me. But who cares ? Even in korea, people didn't know the meaning of the gates anymore.

Not long after the red gate, a temple portal came into my eyes.

My mom took a picture, and I took the photo of her.

The portal was painted with colorful colours and carved with various patterns and sculptures.

There are many paintings about dragons on the Portal.

Interesting in the paintings on dragons is it's a look expressed in it's face.
Their looks are very humorous and funny. The painter seemed to express dragon's friendly side.

I head the reason why they expressed dragons so funny. Let me explain next time.

You can notice a lot of carvings of peaches. These peaches are not ordinary ones what we can see in the market but what you can look at the paradise.

There was a stone water bawl. Horses were not permitted to get into further.
People walked to the temple with a horse tied.

It is as same as a parking lot of Past.

By the portal, the trees begin to change it's colour.

Sort:  

Summer has been good
but now the winter comes
on petals of snow blown loveliness...

The trees are turning, @slowwalker, and it's a perfect time for a pilgrimage to a temple.

The paintings are lovely and colourful with painted dragons and celestial peaches, truly befitting this season of the year.

So many gates and portals in and around Seoul, reminding people of the tactile presence of the afterworld and their ancestors who have crossed over to another world...

I love the light-hearted paintings and the multi- coloured depictions of dragons.

Your walk to The Portal of the Donghaksa Buddhist Temple reminded me of a medieval English poem by Chaucer called The Canterbury Tales. In this series of stories, Chaucer tells of people taking advantage of mild weather to go on a pilgrimage to holy places, and as was your case, the journey was as pleasant as the destination.

Beautiful photos today, my friend

Thank you as always

Such an amazing and colorful article! As an artist I can relate and appreciate the beauty and the ornaments of the temple. It's quite interesting for me how ancient people got to know all those vivid colors they used painting that temple. I guess a lot of imagination has to be involved for that to be possible. Thank you for your post, upvoted it! 👍👍

image

Hello! - very good post. I am trying to make new friends and I would love to get some feedback from you. Feel free to upvote my content and I will do the same. https://steemit.com/@farizzz thankss :)

Great post,Donghaksa Temple looks amazing especially the detail and colours used.Looks like you had a lovely day out with your mum,thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for sharing this post. I clicked it open out of vague curiosity and found myself strongly moved by the photos themselves. Especially the first one of the temple and the one of your mom taking a picture. I can't say why they moved me so much, but they did. I also loved your observations that even in Korea people don't know what the gates mean anymore and the observation about the horses' trough being a parking lot of old. I loved this post. It made my morning a bit magical somehow.

Nice photo your share.

Nice post and nice photo @slowwalker thank you very much for sharing

How are you getting along

Enjoy your mom...quite springy for her age.

This is some dope story :)

Yeah keep it real dude!!!!

The beauty of that is amazing, the time and effort needed to create that is beyond what we know today. Stuff like that isn't built anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26