The Beauty of the traditional patterns

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

I had visited the Tae Go Sa temple several days ago. Tae Go Sa means literally ‘most old temple’. The name Tae Go Sa is very popular in Buddhist Temple. I don’t know the reason why. When I have chance to meet the Monk, I will ask him the reason.

Original Tae Go Sa had been built more than 1400 years ago. But this temple was burned during the Korean War 1950-1953.
After Korean War the temple was established.

The Tae Go Sa temple is located deep in Daw Doon San mountain. It is not easy to approach.

There were so many awesome scenery around the Temple.
Today I’d like to introduce the patterns of the door of the temple. Let me show you another things next time.

The Front board of the temple was written in Golden color. Actually this is really gold.

It was written very well in my view. Well balanced and it have it’s unique beauty.

I took the pics of the windows. The patterns and designs were little bit different in each buildings.

The first was as below

another type of the patterns

I couldn’t take the full window pics regretfully.
I think I need to visit the temple once more.

The patterns were carved by wood and handmade.

There were the Dragon Patterns on the window.

There were 4 different colours of Dragons.

Similar dragons were carved on another window

Colours of Dragons were Blue, Red, Yellow and Green.

There were interesting point on the Dragon.
Did you notice the eyes of dragon.
Yes, right.
They are looking at different direction.
It looks funny, but I think there are reason why.
In my opinion, they are looking at against evils from all directions.

The dragons were carved under the eaves.

There must be connected meaning that I don’t know.
Anyway I need to visit once more.
I have lots of things to ask.

Sort:  

lovely and beautifull temple :) good to find peace there :)

It is very beautiful, especially the dragons in blue and green.

so vivid colours

Wowwwwwww, those blues

good one!

Hey @slowwalker, great place to be at. A very calming and peaceful place out there.... The name Tae Go Sa supports the place effortlessly. Old is gold and this temple is epitome of it. The writing on the front was sheer gold class and also written in gold (pun intended)... The dragon eyes were funny indeed and did put a smile on my face... Nice one ✌️✌️

Your comment is touching
Thank you

I just tried to do justice to your post. I hope I did that. ☺️☺️

I know the Chinese use guardian lions to protect temples and even households and I think your interpretation of the eyes looking in different directions is right, @slowwalker.

When I studied Latin literature, I know the Romans used a two-faced god called Janus to perform the same function - he was the guardian of entrances and doorways and one of his faces looked to the future and the other to the past. That would be very appropriate for you, @slowwalker, since time passages are a theme in your art.

The windows of the temple are colourfully painted and remind me of the stained glass in Christian churches. It's interesting that the dragons are mostly primary colours with the exception being green.

I love these photographs - especially the close-ups - they really showcased the detail and the delicacy of the hand-painted flowers.

A very beautiful post, @slowwalker

불교 문양이나 단청의 아름다움은 어디에 내놓아도 손색이 없지요

In Korean culture as far as I know the dragons symbolizes a lot of qualities such as the wisdom, longevity, sexuality, fertility, procreation, and regeneration and even devotion, kindness, and gratitude. They are seen as mythical beings having magical powers so maybe the eyes and the colors have something to do with those qualities.
Anyway, I am always curious when it comes to the Japanese, Korean or Asian cultures in general so if you find out more from the monk, you let us know.

Very beautiful ornamental designs! I would love to see something like this in person :)

Lol
Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65200.45
ETH 3535.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45