Flower coffin Carrier of My Aunt's Funeral

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

While organizing old photos, I found the flower coffin carrier of my late aunt.
She had passed away several years ago.
We delivered traditional funeral.
Photo is not so clearly focused. But it might be the last traditonal funeral in our family.

May be I am the almost last generatiion to see the traditional funeral.
My aunt had had a very tough life. She experianced the korean war 1950 - 1953.
Her husband, my uncle, elder brother of my dady, passed away earlier.
So she did every thing to raise my cousin.
My mom was her best freind.
It is strange that men were not so helpful at difficult times.
It was like that my dady and cousin had not enough ability to support their family.
That was the share of my mom and my aunt.
when the last is good, everything is fine.
My mom and my aunt did their reponsibility successfully.
At the funeral, my mom felt sad and sorry.
I remember her cry and tears until now.
She had never leave the coffin during the funeral.
In korean traditional funeral, the coffin is decoralted with artificial flowers.
I took a photo of my mom with the flower coffin carrier.

The flower coffin carrier is for the last trip to the other world from this world.

I didn't take the photos of that funeral.
So I took a photo of funeral marching from internet. It was similar to my aunt's funeral

One year later I visited aunt's grave. The grave was fine.
My aunt was burried next to my uncle.
My cousin had grown up without his father.
I know he have missed his dady all his life. So he burried his mom right beside his dady.

Did they finally meet at the other world ?

Sort:  

Very interesting, I'm happy you can hang onto the tradition.
It is good that this tradition is not lost!!
Thank you for sharing this post!!

Interesting. It's a whole lot better than the American way.

رائع صديقى العزيز

Flowers have a brief beautiful life, @slowwalker, much like ours.

This post is a memento mori - a reminder that all must die and it illustrates the transience of earthly life and the need for detachment.

Yet again, we see the tension between the traditional and the modern, even in funerary rites.

Looming unspoken in the background is the even greater division in your country and the reminders of a war that is as yet, unresolved.

You are a faithful observer of your culture, @slowwalker, and as you portray the reality you see about you, you paint the whole canvas, using all the colours,not leaving anything out.

A good post today, my friend.

Thank you so much for your comment

i believe in after life , if they loved each other they will definitely spend an eternity together

Traditions like this are evolving or disappearing fast in all cultures around the world. There are so many things that I remember from my childhood in the 1970s that there just don't seem to be photos captured of. Great that these images are now captured for ever...

I am so sorry to lose our traditional cultures

Each country has its own traditions, In my country, cemetery as usual

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65