You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Iceskate fever for ever

in #culture8 years ago

As a Canadian, I can relate to so much of this post. Such a good read. Well done.
Soon I'll be out there. My skates are hockey skates though and there will no doubt be a stick in my hand. I respect the outside rink. Even when I was a child and it was -30... that did not stop me.

Sort:  

Thank you, I'm glad you like it. And I know in Canada people also love iceskating. Ice hockey being your national sport, in winter here it is ice speed-skating. Although there are some famous fast ice speed-skaters from Canada known to us over here.

I like it more the long marathon style on the natural ice floor though.

Now we don't have the sub -30's over here, as far as I remember, but -20 did not stop me either. It is a great time of the year. Can't wait to get those irons slide over the ice again.

Interesting fact. Hockey and Lacrosse share the title of national sport here.
I've never even tried on a pair of speed skates. When I played hockey in my teens I was pretty quick though. Probably less effort with those long blades.
In Canada, at least where I live, we don't have long ice trails on our lakes. Everything is hockey rink style. I have a pond here that makes a great rink every year. Maybe I'll actually take some photos this winter and share them here. The only downside... all that shoveling.

Lacrosse is very unknown to me. Just had a look at Wikipedia to understand it a bit.

At some point I used to have ice-hockey skates in my teens. But to do long rounds they were less usable. So a few years back I got skates with the long blades again.

Great idea, I would love to have a look into another part of the world. Good luck shoveling! Here they have car for that with a shovel in front. :-)

I have kids with shovels in front. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45