Bunkers in Albania

in #culture7 years ago

The concrete bunkers are everywhere in Albania, with an average of 5.7 bunkers for every square kilometer. They were built during the communist regime from the 1960s to the 1980s.
bunker 1.jpg

By 1983 a total of 173,371 concrete bunkers had been constructed around the country.
Bunker.jpg
The bunkers were abandoned following the collapse of communism in 1990. Most are now derelict, though some have been reused for a variety of purposes including residential accommodation and shelters for animals or the homeless. Some of them are destroyed from people to get and sell the iron inside them.
Bunker 2.jpeg
Now the tourists can buy a bunker as a souvenir.
Bunker Souvenir.jpg

In Tirana (Capital city of Albania) there is a memorial near the former secluded area of residential government, named as Blloku. It features a bunker, pillars from Spac prison (the worst one) and a Berlin wall fragment.Bunker memorial.jpg

Sort:  

Nice pics! Bukners are part of our past.

Yep, that's true. Even there were spend a lot of money building them now we have to save and make them as profitable things, like as historical monuments.

That is definitely a smart thing to do.

What were the concrete bunkers originally built for?

They were built as fire center to protect the country from the enemy, even by people.
Albania's military doctrine was based on a concept of "people's war" drawing on the experience of the Albanian resistance during World War II. Since the Albania was lead by a communism regime, it was supposed to protect the country from the enemy that never came.

Dang, imagine the resources wasted in this preparation. But I think it's getting some sort of use now.

Who knows, maybe one day there will be so many people on steemit, that we will never have to go through war again. A people connected is a people undividable.

Yeah, that's true. Let's make this community bigger

Congratulations @nick77! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am following you now and I have upvoted this post too! Thanks for following me. I introduced myself just 3 days ago and I do not know well how this works but reading you makes me feel more confortable because you seem to be happy here... What I am doing is to comment something to the people who upvote one of my posts, or just follow me, and, of course, I upvote them. I will try to share one post everyday, or two... I am worry about if I am doing things well here, and I would like to know how much you can earn in a year... :) Sorry if I have disturbed you, and sorry about my English, it is not my mother tongue. LOL from Andalucia (S-pain) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41