You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature: Benchmark Theater - Look Back in Anger

in #culture5 years ago

That's right, @honeydue. Unfortunately, theatre is not a literary genre that has been widely exploited. In fact, I remember that in my college career I saw very little theater. Throughout my life I have seen plays that have impressed me a lot. I've seen John Osborne looking back in anger and I thought it was great. The good thing about theatre is that you'll be able to see a different play each time, because every staging is different even if it's the same play, the same actors and the same director. I've enjoyed plays by Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, Berthold Brecht, Samuel Beckett, Cervantes, Calderón de la barca, Ionesco, Genet. One of the best is the piece Waiting for Godot, every time I've seen it I've enjoyed it. I really enjoy the theatre of the absurd. Thank you for this post.

Sort:  

Thank you, Nancy! Theater seems to be a dying thing, sadly...So we must make sure it doesn't die, you know?
Well, that's great to hear, because I plan to feature most of them in this series, as they are some of my favorites as well! Indeed, there is nothing in the literary world that compares to Waiting for Godot. The sheer madness of it is...incredible, still. As is Ionesco's writing, it's utterly mad and absurd, but it carries a very interesting, subtle message :) So, hope you like the next posts in the series too!

Thank you for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44