Missing Home: The Ekombi Dance Of Southern Nigeria

in #culture6 years ago (edited)
The last two years have been the longest I have been away from my hometown - away from the people, the meals and the cultural festivals. I travelled to Nasarawa State in Northern Nigeria in 2016 for the Compulsory National Youth Service and have decided to stay a few more months in the North between Nasarawa and Abuja.

In the last two years I have been exposed to quite a different set of cultures from what I knew about Nigeria. I have travelled widely around part of northern Nigeria but now I really miss home. In the photos below, I want to share some memories of Ibibio and Efik cultures with you.

Here is the Ekpe masquerade of the Efik people of Southern Nigeria. Aren't they wonderful?

dsc_0043.jpg
2382243-connectnigeriaefik-jpeg3ab102409c0dc8dba2ff005a604df2b5.jpg
dsc_0043.jpg


Efik women dancing the popular Ekombi Dance.

images (24).jpeg

akwaibom.jpg


In Ibibio this is called *Unek Itang Isin* which means *waist dance*

images (8).jpeg

images (18).jpeg


Ibibio women dressed in traditional dancing costumes.

images (25).jpeg

Akwa-Ibom-dancers.jpg


And my best part, the Ekpo Masquarade

Welcome to my city 01.jpg
They are wild, fierce, dangerous looking and a fun sight to watch them perform.

Looking at these photos makes me miss the south the more. I can't wait to travel home. I hope to visit home by September for the Akwa Ibom anniversary festival and in December for the popular Calabar street carnival. If you are in Nigeria, then start making plans to be at one of these cultural festivals. See you there.


Disclaimer: Some of those photos were not taken by me, they were either collected from friends or downloaded and have been there in my phone gallery for a long time now that I don't actually know their online source to credit. I do not take credits for them

Sort:  

I want to party too!

Hey man, I have a couple questions.

#1. Would you accept one of the 4 delegate postions? I know that you said in your post yesterday:

"It might help too to indicate that entry should be submitted once. Having the same entry drop ten times as comments on the same post isn't helping the community. This is one major reason I'm not pushing to get the delegation as I am more on the organization and crowd control side. I might frown at certain behavior and I don't want to do that."

that you are not "pushing" to get the delegation, but we do need somebody for "crowd control" and organization, and I think that you would be perfect for the job, and you did not say that you were NOT interested. Again, your firm, direct, and eloquent style is perfect for this style of delegation I truly believe (upvoting some, downvoting others to make them disappear, positioning your own messages for maximum impact, setting a fine example, making an example of others, not talking too much, etc).

The other delegates can worry about scouting talent, greeting and welcoming others, keeping prizewinners happy. I would love to put you on the payroll for Steemjet Bouncer.

I like the division of labor idea the best. Nobody places targeted and effective comments like you. I would not hire @mbj for this job, but I might hire him to scout talent since he is always commenting to help others make their art more pleasing to me because he knows my art style, but he talks too much. I need both of you on the payroll but for DIFFERENT reasons. We need the right tool for the job, and you my friend, would makethe perfect bouncer/crowd control asset.

#2. I want to start a second direct e-mail communication link with me for other community members. I DO NOT WANT YOU TO GIVE ANYONE THE EMAIL YOU HAVE CURRENTLY. But I do want to send you a second email address to give out discretely, specifically to @mindtrap. He wants to draft a longer version of Olivia and Superstar.

I don't know how to use secure messaging or anything like that, and I until I can get up to speed on that stuff, I think that this would be a quick and easy to start another productive communication link that a smaller group of us could bounce ideas off each other. It is getting too crowded around my posts and difficult to focus on individual targeted initiatives. This will serve as a makeshift work space until we can get something else up and running.

Oh!! My boss @dimimp.. I talk too much? Yes.. I love replying to almost every single person in the community so no ONE may feel neglected.. As for this job.. My boss I AM READY FOR IT. I AM SORRY FOR TALKING TOO MUCH "THAT IS WHY I NEED YOU TO DIRECT ME" I CAN'T SEE YOUR TYPE ELSWERE...

😂 😂 😂

JUST PASSING 😂

😂😂😂. He said he's still gonna hire you, read it well and don't talk too much again😊

Yea.. I saw that.. Thank you.

Greetings @dimimp, I have read through your message and understand the role I'm to play very well, so I'll assist in that capacity.

For the email, you can mail it to me anytime, I'll contact @mindtrap and forward the email to him once I receive it. Thank you and I do hope your health is more stable now.

Thank you for the shout out @dimimp
I m really looking forward to that.
Hello @lordjames.I know that @dimimp is a busy man so whenever you have that e mail in your possession you can contact me

Regards!

PS. i really like your photos.Exotic

Congratulations @lordjames, you've proven yourself once again brother and I'm proud of you.
@dimimp your choice of selection has clearly reflected that you're indeed a wise, sound and calculated fellow.

I can say confidently, that the Steemjet space force will do better with these ones. On the wings of superstars, we are words and Steem

Wonderful pictures. The last image looks very much similar to our Kathakali. I'm from the southern part of India where this kind of dance is a cultural trademark. How many languages are there in use in Nigeria? (Here we have to struggle with a new language every 100 kms heading to North!)

IMG_20180426_213234_386.JPG

We have the same language situation in Nigeria. I'll take a look at your Kathakali culture now, I would like to learn a bit more about your people.

Thanks for stopping by my blog. It's always great to read your thoughtful input.

@lordjames which part of akwa ibom ya from
What to know if we are brothers because am from akwa ibom.
(uyo)

I'm from Etinan but have lived, schooled and worked in Uyo for about six years. Lovely people you are in Uyo, I miss the city. Thanks for stopping by.

Uyo is an awesome place tho
Drop me ya number let's whatapp
@lordjames

This is open, it's not really a good idea to drop my number here. But you can find me on discord or telegram as lordjames. Looking forward to chatting with you.

noted and thanks

@lordjames I can't fin u on any can I drop my own for u too ping me ☝

September! Yepee, we await your glorious arrival. First you said April, now you're saying september. Is like you're playing Russian Roulette with my heart, hahaha
Just get redy to perform the Ekombi dance yourself when you're back

The waist dance is always a spectacle!

Would love to see it live someday

Well make the plans, you will witness it someday. And when you do, don't forget to tell us about it. Cheers mate.

Looking at those pictures reminds me of my secondary school days how i was the leader of cultural dance group. Cultural Dancing was what i knew how to do very well and it is what i am always remembered of. I love my culture.
Culture is indeed beautiful.

We in the south are happily waiting to welcome you when you are back home.

Proudly Eyen Akwaibom.

I would have given all the Steem in my wallet to watch you dance in one of those costumes. I hope to see you all soon.

Yes!! Proudly Akwa Ibomite.

And i would have surprise you with all my dancing steps.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Beautiful,, you still hold sight of your origin.
Another masquerade has been invented by politicians call ekpo voters card, you are missing bro
Ever ready to welcome you with one especially the calabar festival picture source-google

Hahahaha, I'll love to learn what the political situation is like back home. I have been too buried in blockchain development news that I forgot to check the news about situations over there.

I'll be home soon, and we'll get to see.

You've gone a long way explaining the way of life of the places you visited
I love you work brother ✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18