How I came to learn that "Adam Ruins Everything" is basically bullshit

in #culture7 years ago

So I have watched several episodes of this show. I enjoyed some of the commentary, but it struck me that Adam was getting more politically left leaning as the show progressed. I did not think he was outright lying but the show was not biased enough at first to make me question the claims Adam made. Until...The Wild West episode.

You see I have a masters degree in American history with a focus on the American frontier. I have written extensively on the West and the mythology of the West. The episode was so full of half truths and sometimes outright lies I had to turn it off halfway through the first time I saw it. Could people really believe the bullshit Adam was spewing about a subject that I had spent years studying. Adam had obviously never seen a Wild West show so his commentary on what they were like was laughable. Please do not take anything you see in the video above as a realistic assessment of the Western experience. Had Adam or his writers bothered to watch a Wild West show they would know that the cavalry riding in to save the day is a huge part of the show. While the military was present in the West, they were not the first line of defense for wagon trains and settlers, the rugged individualist was. In fact there was an industry built around men who led these trains who could fight or talk their way across native lands. The cavalry is actually late to the game, the West having been explored and in some places settled by trappers, hunters, and miners long before there was much of a military presence. Wild West shows were exaggerated but they offered a glimpse of the West that was just as valid as anything Adam says here.

Sort:  

All you need to do is look at him and you can automatically tell his political leanings & bias. Then watch the clip just for confirmation. The West was built by women...LMFAO!!

Now I'm not saying women had nothing to do with making where the people settled home, but to just flat out say it was built by them is insanity.

And then the brainwashed masses eat up what he says as truth and spreads the propaganda! WE'RE COMIN' FOR YA GLOBALIST!!! WE KNOW WHAY YOU'RE DOIN'!!

Women followed the men to the West. Women may have been more prone to settle down but a more accurate statement would be "men explored and tamed the West, women came in and tamed the men".

Re-Steemed. I hate this guy's show. It's usually not accurate as far as even MY limited knowledge goes. And even if it was, he's an annoying clown.

I have watched several of the shows and all of them have my BS meter going off. This one in particular I know enough about to call foul.

I don't watch this stuff. I pretty much don't watch ANY stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61