My Future Or My Culture?

in #culture6 years ago (edited)

image

"SHOULD NOT! YOU SHOULD SIGN MEDICINE! "That's what I always hear when it comes to college majors with my parents.
Today is the worst, my two siblings also agree with them. How not to want to get away from home if like this? My life is always determined by them, from entering high school and getting into the university today. I feel alive as someone else. Uncertain direction and just following the whisper caught by my ears. I relentlessly regretted after following the whisper that increasingly governed my life. I am Bimo Wirasakti, not my brother Ocha or Rezki. I am the last child, but what is my life so widespread. Live on the will of others.

Unceasingly, I prayed to the power of the will that I want, praying to ask for instructions also every night I do. I do not want to be wrong in determining the purpose of my life. Because this is the time, I'm learning to mature and start a new life as myself. Ah no, this rambling scream of my heart makes me even more frustrated. I can never be myself, because the line of destiny may have chosen me to live as someone else.

"Ya Rahman Ya Rahim, give me a hint to enter university. Only You know what is best for me. "My prayer this time I hope will be my prayer intercessor to be answered. Even though the mattress and blanket in front of my eyes kept flirting, get this morning excited to go to school. Hopefully this morning is a good start for me, amen.



It's time for my red scooter gas, bismillah in my heart. 15 minutes had passed after kusapu sharp streets .. Kulkahkan feet with caution to the class with my friends who happened to meet in the parking. Classes are already crowded, most of them are reading or doing the task. Because the national examination is close to being a major factor they are suddenly diligent. And there must be a bunch of people in the class who are gossiping like unlucky mothers. I just kept quiet and read my biology book ignore the humble powder of my class that will make me feel like in the middle of a bustling city.

"Eh Bim, you want to go to the dance department, yes!" One of my friends tapped my shoulder from behind. Suddenly I was surprised.
"I ... Yes" I reply with a bit of a stutter.
Everyone was staring at me with a strange look, the smile on their faces began to appear. And the longer it turns into laughter. Nor did I know what they were thinking, only from the look on their faces is very visible if they all wondered at me.
"Are you seriously Bim?" Andini my friend asked with a face marked big question mark.
"Em .. Ya of course" I just answer it with a smile.

"Hahaha..hahahaha" suddenly my class became very noisy and full of laughter from all sources of direction.
I was even more confused, just silent and the more I thought hard about what happened this morning. What did I do wrong? What's so funny about my words? Is my face so full of cow that they all laugh?
"Never mind, just forget they may just be cursing me" positive thoughts always adorn my days. Because I know, in the absence of it I can not live to be a better person anymore. Today I continue to be the usual day, though when I feel a lot of my friends are whispering about me. But, I believe it's just my feeling that I'm overly romanticized.

At home my parents went back to my department, I could not deny that I only agreed with all my parents' words. I'm not a coward, but I realize they are my parents and there's no way I'm going to be stupid with my crude denial. Because my values ​​of obedience have always been instilled since childhood by my parents though I disagree.
Elementary and junior high school extracurricular time I follow. Not infrequently from every semester only I am a man who follow the extras. Like a giraffe in the elephant crowd that was me then. My parents did not know if I followed the extracurricular, because I already knew the answer would be "no!"

The university's online registration has been opened, it's time I have to fight with my inner self. Between joining my wish or my parents who I love very much. I was afraid to disappoint them by following my choice. But this is my life, I'm the one who should decide it is not anyone.

"Are you sure Bim? Not wrong to enter the art of dance? Are you kidding ya ?! "Ask Doni my classmate.
"Don, sure enough." I look thoughtfully.
"What do you want Bim? Take a clear course majors! Do not be neko-neko .. "Doni replied with a serious reply too.

Today I think again, why is the department of dance art considered one eye? What's wrong with it? The art of Indonesian pride, the point can not be contested.

"Mrs. Mother, the choice of the second majors will I choose the art of dance UNY." I say without looking at their eyes.
"You never thought about your life po Bim?"
"But this has become my choice Pak Bu."
"Should not! You can not enter the art of dance, you are the men of Bim. What would a neighbor say if you knew you were in dance huh? "
"I'm sorry sir, but ..."
"Never mind! It's up to you if you're disappointed. You will not care about you. "

I decided with the steadiness of the heart, the medical department of UGM as my first choice and the second UNY dance art. The university that I've been looking for since childhood. Since the first time I watched the dance performances area in TBY. That very moment, my love for dance is getting overwhelming. And I can not afford an inch of forgetting every body motion from the dancers. Until now, I want to someday perform in Yogyakarta Cultural Park as when I saw the dancers of that time.

SNMPTN results have been out, how disappointed my parents know my SNMPTN results are not accepted at UGM. But how happy am I able to live as myself. I am very grateful, because this is the line of destiny that I long for. I come my culture. Wait for me to preserve you.

A semester in the course is very interesting for me. New things I found in it. Although not infrequently many people mencibirku not think a bit.
"Eh, that's the Bimo cook in the art of dance. What does he want to be? A dancer around the village? Ha ha ha."
I've heard a lot of scorn that makes me more motivated to succeed. And next month I'll show you. Time for me to follow the selection of dancers at UNY to represent my university.

Not much hope, including 11 finalists who escaped I was very happy. Although actually only needed 10 finalists. But it has become a pride for me. And this is the time to go into the selection room. My heart is getting more and more out of my body. I try to calm down and do everything as perfect as possible. Bismillah step in my feet.

Currently just waiting for the announcement, 2 weeks will be announced the winners. I hope I'm one of them. Hariku became even more worried about the race. Because only 4 years once this race was held. I can, I can!

I ran to the notice board, a smile was present on my face. I looked for one by one from Bimo Wirasakti from every writing. Finally I found my name, with the word NOT LOLOS slapping beside it. I failed, I thought. I can only bemoan everything that has happened. My chance this time failed, I had to try to scavenge another chance that could not come twice to me.
I hope this will be fine.

The next days I went through without a different thing. I still Bimo Wirasakti who is undergoing a lecture routine in the department of dance UNY. Not many people know me. Because I'm not too flashy at my university.
But suddenly the phone rang from my Handphone.
"Hah? Is this serious? Well then I'll come to your office. "
A man I know my university lecturer told me if I was in 10 finalists who would be trained to follow the 3-month race to represent my university. Actually, I failed. But luck just being on my side. One of the finalists had an accident and was unable to continue. And I'm the one chosen. I.
Yes this is me, the end of 1 million of my dreams achieved. And I will go through it without any hesitation.

My trainings with the other contestants gave me a very valuable impression. As it turns out, they are not just Javanese people. Black people from the island nanjauh also come in with me. They all dance the Java dance with me. Jaipong be his choice, today and so on I will continue to have a memorable day from our different cultural preservation (designations from me) into one mutually cooperating body.

Just one week away we will follow the regional dance competition in Indonesia. The winner was not playing games, will be contested back on the international level. I'm a bit upset about that, because actually preserving culture is not the place for a better culture. But loving culture is itself the most important factor of cultural preservation. But this is the race. We must be prepared with all decisions.

Good morning. Today is the spirit we have to burn. The day we have counted every minute has arrived. August 18, 2012, the results of our hard work will be displayed.
"Everyone should be calm not to be nervous or nervous. Must be sure in every movement of your dance, get in quickly. "
"Ready sir!" We replied simultaneously with the support of our mentors all along.

Finally we have done everything as well as possible. I can not believe we qualified to be contested at an international level in a week.
Held in Thailand, this race will be gnawing at my mind. I have to practice hard and focus on this one thing.

A week we passed with full pressure, this is the same time as the race a week ago. "We have to perform better." I thought to myself.
Today became the beginning of my story of adventure in the country people bring my culture and prove that the culture of Indonesia can not be stolen and even bought with any money. Because this is the evidence of the establishment of Indonesia with a million cultures that deserve to be preserved.

Crowds are heard in a room so vast that it can accommodate about 5000 people. Sweat is absorbed by my jaipongku dance costume. The stage fright I felt when I first stood in front of people with these different cultures.
And as the seconds ticked by, the nomination of the contest winner will be announced and "The third winner is Indian Country with Kathakali dance, second Indonesian champion with Jaipong dance, and ..."
"Yay! we won! Alhamdulillah. "Crowded cheers from our group ignored the voice of the host who was reading the next champion. We can not bear the pleasure and pride of this victory. Although not the first, but we are the preservers of Indonesian culture that will always make Indonesia proud to have a generation like us. And especially I am Bimo Wirasakti the dance lover, who is currently in the presidential palace received a welcome from President SBY after returning from Thailand.

I'm not a crazy person who meets the number one person in Indonesia just by loving my own culture. But this is evidence, that culture can not be underestimated.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hanakarue from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64